mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Bunting Time

Bunting New

Anyone who knows me well will know how much I like my bunting. Every year I seem to make more, because you can never have enough (and occasionally I even get some as pressies). So to get me through these few months till I can get out in the garden and use it, I thought I’d stock up.

As the nice people at Newcastle have been kind enough to give me some of their pretty colours I stacked up a few and cut some 6 1/2″ strips.

BuntingNewTri

Using my cutting board I marked 6″ across and cut a diagonal to a point at 3″. It’s easy to just keep moving along the strip cutting the next diagonal, every other pair being upside down.

Placing wrong sides together, I stitched a 1/4″ seam down each side, trimmed the point and turned them through. A pin is useful to carefully pick the points out. I pressed them and trimmed the seams in line with the raw edges at the top.

BuntingTurned copy

Eleven fit nicely along 2m of 1″ wide cotton tape (folded) with no gaps and about an 8″ tail either end for hanging. I found a few vintage buttons and voila!

BuntinButton

……..I’m thinking this will look nice around my trolley for the Knitting and Stitching Show……….on my trolley

www.newfabs.com

The Spring Knitting and Stitching Show
Olympia Two and Olympia West Hall, London
14th to 17th March 2013
10.00am to 5.30pm (closes 5pm Sunday)

This new show is a celebration of crafts of every kind. The emphasis is on ‘Making’ and we’ll provide everything you need to help ‘Make It Yourself’.
Dressmaking, interiors, upcycling, knitting, crochet, patchwork and quilting…. whatever your passion, you’ll develop a love of crafts at the Spring Knitting and Stitching Show.
Click here to buy your tickets today!! <http://app.bronto.com/public/?q=ulink&fn=Link&ssid=8044&id=1rsqpzbe3vpr9rznecdvbfr0ylo3q&id2=fs0unlmj9xv7mi2oe0k5enyijbf9v&subscriber_id=acrkuzdvhwweikonujmxubvxkbwablg&delivery_id=apufghrgtlyuuliuywolfobalzqsbog&tid=3.H2w.BkmloQ.CWE_.Qu2K..p3yu.b..l.BKct.a.URLdgQ.URL9FQ.kBgAdA>

2 comments on “Bunting Time

  1. mosaicthinking
    March 24, 2013

    Thanks for sharing those dimensions. We found ourselves short of decorations last Christmas and I refuse to buy rubbishy ones from overseas. I’ve been stocking up on Christmas fat quarters since then and plan to make reversible Christmas bunting, with a different fabric on each side. The bonus is that Christmas fat quarters get heavily discounted in January. Just to really mix up my holidays, maybe I can sew them over Easter!

  2. mandymunroe
    March 24, 2013

    Sounds like a plan! – you can leave spaces in between to make them go a bit further. Happy stitching.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in Projects and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

