mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Stitchless in Seattle

What to do when you’re without your sewing machine?

A few days away is always fun but my fingers get itching to stitch. So I got online and searched out a few local yarn stores and fabric shops. Luckily I brought with me a little crochet project from The Natural Dye Studio to tide me over.

DyeStudioCrochet

These little flowers were started on retreat but I found they were a bit beyond me after a few drinks in the evening (hence the weird orange one). So I made a few more then set out on foot to sniff out some colour.

Down near the waterfront Pike Place Market is a spectacle itself. “Fishermen” throwing fish around and singing, keeping the tourists entertained. The daffodils are in full bloom lining the roof tops and rows of spray dyed ones are for sale inside (I know which ones I prefer).

PikePlaceDaffs

There is a quilt shop called Undercover Quilts next to the Pike Brewing Co. with lots of patchwork kits and bolts of fabric, a winning combination if you have a husband who is less interested in the patchwork! I spied a fabric by Jennifer Heynen for In the Beginning fabrics, a company local to Seattle I’d never heard of (the purple and lime green circles on top) so I purchased a yard to share with my quilting buds from Jo Blox (the others are for me)! 🙂

FabricUndercover

So much yarn on Elliott Ave, near Pike Place Market was hidden away beyond World Market, upstairs. Worth tracking down, the store is a colourful explosion of yarn arranged by gauge. They were very helpful finding me patterns for small projects to use up some of my stash and were holding lessons in the classroom area. Knitting needle signage points the way.

Stitches, heading out of town up East Pike St had fabric, felt, notions and yarn too. Painted bright pink I had a good feeling there was going to be a young, inspired crowd here.

StitchesSeattle

They stock everything to make and mend clothes, a small select range of Michael Miller, Kaffe Fassett and Timeless Treasures patchwork fabrics and plenty of threads, yarn and felt. This area around Melrose on Capitol Hill is quite a sexy side of town with many arty cocktail bars and coffee shops. I had to sit and enjoy the vibe in the Bauhaus coffee shop surrounded by books and upcycled chairs.

BauhausBooks+Coffee

So I wasn’t really stitchless, I got my fix, but I did miss out on a visit to Luke Haynes studio as he was out of town, darn it!

Seattle also has a lot of colourful glass for sale, made locally. There is a glass museum with glass trees and shrubs near the iconic Space Needle and a glassblowing workshop where you can browse and try your hand for a reasonable price. Very inspiring!

HWLB&N

And look what I spotted! –

Homemade with Love magazine (issue 1) in Barnes and Noble, Seattle!

11 comments on “Stitchless in Seattle

  1. jane
    March 23, 2013

    How nice to see Homemade with love on the shelf! Great reading for anyone who is sleepless in Seattle!

  2. mosaicthinking
    March 24, 2013

    Brewery and quilt shop combo. I can see the appeal!

  3. Oh Sew Tempting
    March 24, 2013

    Sounds like a great time to me! Have fun 🙂 Avis x

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2013

      Thanks Avis, it wasn’t too much of a hardship!

  4. pomegranateandchintz
    March 24, 2013

    Seattle is such a great place – I’ve only been once but enjoyed it very much. I didn’t know about all those shops though! Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time. Just a wee bit envious!

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2013

      The wonder of the internet! We did have fun, thanks. Years ago (at least 15) we had a trip to Australia and I bought quilting fabric back then from places discovered totally by accident – luckily 🙂 I may need another trip!

  5. mandymunroe
    March 27, 2013

    My loyal student and friend Ilse has just emailed this – “No doubt you have found the lovely Quilting shop in the fishmarket, after visiting there I became interested in the craft and found you shortly afterwards in Canterbury.”

    So I have Undercover Quilts to thank for sparking Ilse to search out a new hobby and teacher – small world!

    • Darlene Joyner
      September 20, 2013

      You were in my neck of the city.glad you enjoyed your self.

  6. Pingback: Stitchless in Seattle | mandy munroe » NancyCelms

Leave a Reply

Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

