mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Just had to knit something

KnittingKoigu

This lovely Koigu merino yarn was on sale at Purl Soho, there was only one skein left and I didn’t know what I would use it for. Needless to say I couldn’t walk past it and having just completed another quilt I had itchy fingers. I rooted out my Addi 3.5mm circular needles, stretched out a long tail and cast on about 100 sts until it ran out (I didn’t count).

I joined into a circle and just knit………….round and round………….loving the colour interactions………..until the ball started to get small (and IT was about 6″ deep). Then I did a few rounds of purl (to stop the curl), then back to knit, relaxing, mindless.

IT started to look like a cowl, too big for a hat.

Haha, I counted the stitches when I cast off – 151!

I think I’ll need to go back and do something about the curl on the other edge.

2 comments on “Just had to knit something

  1. KnitNell
    April 29, 2013

    To discourage the curl you could try tassels all along the edge – it might work – if you don’t have any of the Koigu left you can use another yarn picking out one of the colours. Then it would definitely look like a cowl. Always fun to experiment.

    • mandymunroe
      April 29, 2013

      That’s really kind of you to suggest a solution, thanks! I had thought I would pick up and knit then purl a few rounds with what I have left and see what that does. The yarn is so soft it won’t be a chore and I really don’t mind if it doesn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2013 by in Projects and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

