mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

It started with a workshop with Lotta Jansdotter

A lovely day.

Last weekend I was lucky enough to get onto a printing workshop with Lotta Jansdotter in Brooklyn.

Lotta Studio

I’ve admired her modern patchwork fabrics for ages and have included some in my quilts, so I booked well in advance as she only has eight places and doesn’t run that many classes. She’s so lovely and it was very inspiring just being there in amongst all of her stuff.

Lotta                         P1010609

We started at the very beginning printing with potatoes, then she guided us through how to carve blocks and went on to demonstrate stencils. We printed wrapping paper, cards, a notebook and a bag in her beautiful spacious workshop, so lots of loot to take home (some more successful than others) and a few yummy fabric purchases from her shop too!

(I’m hoping some of the other students took more/better photos)

LootBrooklyn     The blue flower motif is one of Lotta’s stencil designs.

I’ve not explored this part of Brooklyn before so I took the opportunity to have a look around after the workshop. I crossed over the canal and walked along Smith Street – and there was a yarn shop!

La Casita, not just a yarn shop with a crochet workshop going on, it’s also a cafe with a fully stocked bar! – all in one little space – too early for that though, so I treated myself to some Cascade Pima Cotton which they wound for me as well (shown above).

LaCasitaYarnShop

There’s lots of inspiring shops including some vintage and many interesting looking bars and restaurants along a small stretch near Carroll station.

Smith&shop             BlueBikeBrooklyn  And a blue moped! 🙂

I didn’t make it to Brooklyn General Store as I ran out of time. That will have to be another day, soon.

11 comments on “It started with a workshop with Lotta Jansdotter

  1. Fifty Two Create
    April 18, 2013

    Sounds like a lovely day!

  2. daisybellcrafts
    April 18, 2013

    A perfect day, sounds like you really enjoyed it 🙂

    • mandymunroe
      April 18, 2013

      Yes, I must do more of this! It’s great spending time with creative people and exploring new places too.

  3. pomegranateandchintz
    April 18, 2013

    That looks like such great fun and a lovely day out!

  4. rags4bags
    April 19, 2013

    Looks like you had fun. Were they your pieces with the yarn?

  5. houseofgreene
    April 20, 2013

    Looks like a great day in a fab area!! The stencils look great!

  6. ElPetitTaller
    April 22, 2013

    Oh, how I wish I could do something like this one day. How I wish I could go to New York… you’re very lucky and you did so many fabulous things! and hey, your photos are really nice!

    • mandymunroe
      April 22, 2013

      Thanks, I know the other students took loads during the workshop, I should have taken more. I’m sure there is somewhere just as fabulous in Ireland you can explore. Track down a workshop and book on it!

  7. cloudcoucou
    May 6, 2013

    You’re so lucky…I saw this advertised somewhere the other week and was moaning to my boyfriend that it wasn’t in the UK!

    • mandymunroe
      May 6, 2013

      You could always email and ask her! She’s off to India soon……

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2013 by in Workshops and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

