mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

The scraps just get smaller

Well I’m sure you’ll agree that these beauties were worth saving!

CrazyScrapssml

I’m starting to plan my next quilt and was pulling out some brights when these popped up. They are so cheerful I hadn’t been able to throw them away. So I stitched them together and trimmed a little and now I have something usable.

I was trying to keep in mind that anything less than 1″ had to really be worth saving and that 3/4″ was pushing it.

The pile on the left is definitely going in the bin 🙂

So these are also going in my next bright, summery,  scrappy quilt.

PreviewFabricssml

I’ll keep you posted!

5 comments on “The scraps just get smaller

  1. pomegranateandchintz
    May 10, 2013

    Yummy fabrics!!

    • mandymunroe
      May 11, 2013

      Loved your Hampton quilt Meredithe, I’ve just made something similar but it’s with a magazine so I can’t share yet. You did a great job with the jazzy strips, that AMH print is difficult to match, I’ve tried!

  2. rags4bags
    May 11, 2013

    I will be following your progress!

  3. Kem
    May 11, 2013

    my thinking on small bits is…. if you really love the fabric, then keep it. i love your idea to sew the small bits together to make omething usable… thx for the tip!

    • mandymunroe
      May 11, 2013

      Well, you’re right, you don’t have to use them, just love them!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by in Fabrics, Projects, Quilts and tagged , , , .
The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

Nicky Grace Vintage Fabric & Gorgeous Things

Beautiful handmade vintage gifts on Etsy and at her Pop Up Shop

