mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Anniversary Blog

It’s been a whole year!

Wow, that went fast. Thanks to all of you who have supported me, clicked the “like” button and have taken time to comment, I feel I’m getting to know some of you now. Looking at the stats, there have been over 4400 visits, with 97 on just 1 day, 220 comments, 4 award nominations and 75 posts. It’s been quite a learning curve!

And so to the post –

We had our last meeting (until the fall) at the NYCMetroMod and all made blocks as a thank you to Victoria and Earamichia who were stepping down from their committee positions. These were my contributions in their favourite orange and purple.

Block4V   Block4E

They looked a little stunned but pleased, (more over on the blog). Some group quilts were raffled that were made before I joined and I would have loved to have won one of them. But I did win a lovely Sugar 6-pack of batiks from Hayden at Timeless Treasures – exciting, thank you!

Batiks Timeless

I’m not usually into batiks but these really got my heart racing, they glow! I think I’ll put them with white, so a trip to City quilter needed soon 🙂

I had already treated myself to some lovely Andover textured solids from Sew Modern which arrived this week (it is my blogaversary you know)

TexturedAndover

so it seems I’m lining up a few projects!

I’ve been quilting my March Bee quilt like crazy but unfortunately didn’t get it finished in time for the meeting. Now, everyone knows that you can’t quilt heavily in the centre of a quilt without doing something similar in the borders, but I used my (mine cos I bought it, not my design) lovely MS Dos fabric from Spoonflower in nice big strips to show it off, so I wasn’t about to scribble through it with loads of quilting. It was a little wavy around the edge so I put a few lines of quilting in to try and tame it but I decided this is going to be used, not hung on a wall so I can put up with a bit of waft.

MarchBeeQuiltingsml

I added a little more after this was taken and it wasn’t so bad after I’d trimmed it.

MarchBeeBorder

And then to bind, so nearly there but not quite in time for the blog either!

Thanks for finding time to visit 🙂

17 comments on “Anniversary Blog

  1. pippinrunwild
    June 4, 2013

    Happy 1st Birthday!

  2. treadlemusic
    June 4, 2013

    Stunning! I’m with ya on the waviness ‘thing’. I will not obsess over a little (=small amount) of wave if the item is going to be a lap/bed quilt or loved to pieces by a little one. There are way too many ideas in my head ready to jump out to spend time being concerned about such. But, then, I am not doing quilts for judging, either!!! Love your blog!! Hugs, Doreen

    • mandymunroe
      June 4, 2013

      Thanks Doreen, nice to know I’m not the only one. Glad you like my blog!

      • treadlemusic
        June 4, 2013

        Absolutely……I think we see a lot of things alike!!! Hugs (for sure!), D

  3. daniellajoe
    June 4, 2013

    Congratulations!!!! Time flies 🙂

  4. ukcitycrafter
    June 4, 2013

    Congratulations on your 1st Birthday!

  5. Stephanie
    June 4, 2013

    Happy anniversary!

  6. mandymunroe
    June 4, 2013

    Thanks everyone! Do you think I should buy a cake? 🙂

  7. Thanks for liking me. My anniversary is in August.

  8. pomegranateandchintz
    June 4, 2013

    Happy anniversary! Great “V” and “E” blocks – looks like a fun meeting. Luuuurve those Andover fabrics – must find me some of them!! Keep up the good work on your blog – enjoying it!

  9. twoquiltsandachicken
    June 4, 2013

    I love your March bee quilt!! -Jamie

  10. sewing room secrets
    June 5, 2013

    Happy first blogaversary (love that word!). Some great fabric finds with those Andover beauties and I love the pretty colours of the batiks too! Don’t be too upset by a little wave here and there – your March Bee quilt looks fab! X

  11. cloudcoucou
    June 5, 2013

    Happy Birthday! Love the March Bee quilt, beautiful colours. I agree on the batik too, not normally a fan, but the tonga treats is yummy!

  12. rags4bags
    June 5, 2013

    Happy Birthday to you!

  13. helen beall
    June 6, 2013

    Congrats on a great year! Wishing you many more…

  14. Mary Pat
    June 10, 2013

    Hello and Happy Belated Blogaversary! Love that word and may borrow it for our blog (when we make a year). Love reading about what you and your quilting groups are doing and seeing the end product – lovely as always.

  15. Happy anniversary, starting my blog was one of the best things I have done, I love the sharing of ideas with like minded people.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in Events, Fabrics, Quilts and tagged , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

