mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Bobble Bags, Dishcloths and Wellies

I’ve been finishing up some projects!

Crochet dishcloths started on holiday have just had their ends sewn in and there is not much of the cotton leftover so I feel I can put that away now (although there’s probably enough left for a doily or two………….). Interestingly I’d picked up two different Sugar’n Cream 4 ply cottons from Lily and one of them is lightly (nicely) scented. It does say so on the label, I just didn’t read it πŸ™‚

CrochetDishcloths

The teal and cream bobble bag has taken ages of pulling the ends through to fill the bobbles but the end is in sight, I just have to felt it down now. I’m not sure about keeping the top cream, I may dye it with Koolaid – blue raspberry gives a soft turquoise colour that I’m a bit partial to.

BobbleGreen

TealBobbleBag

The first one I made gets so many comments every time I take it out. The pattern is by Bev Beattie from Knitting4fun and she gave me the pattern when I bought the wool and needles from her, it’s also in her book. It knits up quite quickly as you use the wool double.

BobbleBagBev copy

Another favourite pattern is by Debbie Bliss. It’s for baby bootees and even though it freaks my kids out every time I make some, it’s great for using up left overs. I use larger needles and thicker wool than the pattern and knit these huge sloppy things, then felt them down to “wellies”

Wellies

I’ve made about 5 pairs now and put them away in a box with some lavender to protect them from the moths. We wont be needing them in this house for few years (10)?Β  but I do like small projects to pick up in between making quilts.

Gosh, my next post has to have some colour, enough of the grey!

8 comments on “Bobble Bags, Dishcloths and Wellies

  1. Ilse J. Bull
    June 20, 2013

    Been looking for fancy patterns for pan holders for years, ever seen any? See you tomorrow. Ilse

    • mandymunroe
      June 20, 2013

      Well, I’m working on something interesting for a quilt I can show you tomorrow. it may fit the bill. Have you got some insulated wadding or are you just going to use cotton? – talk tomorrow!

  2. ukcitycrafter
    June 20, 2013

    Love the bobble bag!

  3. cloudcoucou
    June 20, 2013

    That bobble bag is too cute, looking forward to seeing it felted πŸ™‚

  4. Mary Pat
    June 21, 2013

    This bobble bag is even better – it’s blue! I’d dye the top for sure.

  5. tinaor
    June 27, 2013

    I love the bobble bag. I hope you’ll pop a photo up on here once it’s felted too!

  6. meliss
    June 27, 2013

    I want to make a bobble bag too – the pics are great

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Bags, Projects and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

