mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Throwing with panache

I’m on a bit of a knitting kick right now. Having bought Last Minute Knitted Gifts by Joelle Hoverson, I was drawn in by a very textured Tea Cozy pattern.

I pulled out my stash of yarn and found something that could work (I have a lot of odd balls that need projects) – it’s a Stylecraft DK so I found some 4mm bamboo needles, not what the recipe asked for but I just wanted to try the pattern.

StartHatCosy

It’s an easy pattern, the combination of stitches gives the texture, the trouble is I keep drifting off into the purl, knit, purl, knit rhythm and forget to knit through back loop. I’ve tried training my brain into front, back, front, back but it takes concentration and I seem to have none right now. I’ve tried dropping my needles down into my lap so I’m looking from above while flinging, (I’m a thrower apparently) to change my perspective and break my usual habit, so the throwing gets wilder. I like to think of it as throwing with panache (I’m so glad you can’t see)!

Thinking about it, I have a friend (Belinda, don’t say I said) who is a mightier thrower than I am, who achieves great things. Maybe it’s not so bad. I think it turned out OK (don’t look too closely) once I’d realized it’s knit sideways and although smaller than it should be, it could even be a nice hat!

HatCosy

6 comments on “Throwing with panache

  1. creative pixie
    August 7, 2013

    Such a great texture.

  2. Marie
    August 8, 2013

    gorgeous love this pattern ……texture is beautiful. Thanks for sharing Marie

  3. ukcitycrafter
    August 8, 2013

    It’d make a great hat with pom- poms on the four corners! I’ve never heard of being a knitting ‘thrower’ before, I’m intrigued at what my style of knitting is now 🙂

  4. mandymunroe
    August 9, 2013

    Pom-poms, great idea! I think I’ll make a few more of these, if I keep changing my needle size I’ll get a range of sizes and use up some of my stash.

  5. rags4bags
    August 11, 2013

    Cannot wait to see!

  6. onoodlesstitchcraft
    October 18, 2013

    I’m off to look out this book!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2013 by in Projects and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

