mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

More Flea Market Treasures

Well, this is just a wooden cutlery tray that I’ve re-purposed. Found in a charity shop on a lovely day out with my friend and thrifting partner Nicky.

Cutlery Tray

Rows of little shelves that fit my previously amassed Sylko threads perfectly and the tall glass ex olive jar too!

Then this weekend Mary-Pat surprised me with these vintage doilies…..oh joy

Thrifted Doilies

………that she had selected for me from a whole cache she had discovered. The lace is cleverly looped and the embroidery on both is beautiful. She has a love of blue too, that goes way back further than my current obsession so I am honored that she parted with this one. The edge is rows of tiny crochet.

But I have another gorgeous find up my sleeve. Hastily purchased (with a little help and insider info) from a flea market before getting on the train, my fastest decision of the year so far…………..

Blue Suitcase

What a beauty !! and a bargain too! It’s clean, hardly used and I know I will use it for my workshops soon.

Thank you my friends!

20 comments on “More Flea Market Treasures

  1. Lettyb
    August 15, 2013

    That little suitcase is fab!

  2. treadlemusic
    August 15, 2013

    Suitcase=perfect!!! Your threads are “picture perfect” too! Great ‘finds’! Hugs…..

    • mandymunroe
      August 15, 2013

      Thanks Doreen, I never can resist colourful threads – as long as they’re cotton mind you.

      • treadlemusic
        August 15, 2013

        They are really like little wound jewels!

  3. Vikky Furse
    August 15, 2013

    Well done Mandy!

    • mandymunroe
      August 15, 2013

      It’s a skill you know, saving other peoples junk and it takes bottle, coming home with more stuff to find room for πŸ™‚

  4. rags4bags
    August 16, 2013

    Good use of the cutlery tray-far more attractive than my sweetie jar. Love the doilies too. Just how big is that case?Well it’s beautiful and useful!

    • mandymunroe
      August 19, 2013

      Thanks, the case will do as an overnighter or have my project samples inside!

  5. Julie C
    August 20, 2013

    I have a few vintage doilies for myself, my mum was very good at embroidering pillow cases in the same way.
    I love the cutlery tray idea, thanks for sharing.

    • mandymunroe
      August 20, 2013

      I hope you’ve got some of the pillow cases too they sound beautiful. My mum recently gave me some doilies passed down through the family so I’m trying to keep those safe as I have so many others now to make cushions with.
      (http://wp.me/p2tTFZ-3t)

      • Julie C
        August 21, 2013

        Thanks Mandy, I should have added my mum made a beautiful table cloth for me over 40yrs ago now full of embroidery perhaps I should show that on my blog.

      • mandymunroe
        August 21, 2013

        Oooh yes! – clever Mum, lucky you!

  6. tinyinc
    August 21, 2013

    the cutlery tray is a superb idea and I am very envious of the suitcase as my own search for such a lovely thing continues πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Thread Shelf | PILLOWS A-LA-MODE

    • mandymunroe
      September 4, 2013

      Thanks for the link, your miniatures shelf looks great!

  8. mosaicthinking
    September 8, 2013

    I might just have to steal that cutlery tray idea – very clever.

    • mandymunroe
      September 8, 2013

      Go for it! – I’m still deciding whether to hang it on the wall.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2013 by in Vintage and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

