mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

SummerofCrafts Live Twitter debate

Well, this was a first for me!

As a member of Axis I was invited to join in this online debate between 2 and 3pm today. The first step was to create a twitter account, which I have so far resisted and deemed unnecessary. I mean, how many of these new technologies am I expected to learn? But, I was drawn in and I’m so glad I made the effort.

The debate was chaired by Sarah Corbett from Craftivist Collective who posed these questions.

Where do craft and contemporary art cross over?
What can different practitioners learn from each other?
How important are making skills and materiality?
How can making things make the world a better place?
We started promptly with various artists, craftspeople, yarnbombers and groups like Fine Cell Work all tweeting one – liners. It took me a while to work out the threads as the timings were bizzare. A bit like the Two Ronnies sketch where they respond with the answer to the previous question. I jotted down a few snippets that caught my attention as best I could.
Jillia Kimpe suggested that “perhaps art maintains the materiality and workmanship but without the planned intentions of craft” – a positive twist, I thought on the usual “function is bad” take.
Being taught to “De-skill” at art school was a quoted by a few.
Kate Day reminded us with this gem that “Grayson Perry blew the craft bunker by coming out as a potter and winning the Turner Prize
It was suggested that the word craft be removed – that didn’t last long.
The power of making for our well being as individuals and society was recognised.
Helen Carnac  wrote “the making could be more important than the final commodity”
Fine Cell work (I assume online from prison) pointed out that the quality of their workmanship was imperative.
Sarah Filmer wrote “Slow make – not fast buy”
There seemed to be a theme of “make, make, make” but Emma Moody-Smith suggested, with a green conscience.
Richard Shields pointed out that “if art, craft and design have different starting points then they shouldn’t be confused if a craftsman makes art”
As we started to wind up, Mark Scott Word finished by reminding everyone that “Craft is for life, not just for summer“!
I hope I’ve managed to  credit everyone I’ve quoted correctly, apologies for any names I’ve misspelled in my haste. My intention was to give you an overview of my hour not making!
Here’s the link storify.com/Axisweb/summer-of-craft-live-debate
And being a visual person I have to add an image of one of my hand dyed patchwork wall pieces 🙂
abode large
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2013 by in Events and tagged , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

