mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Class with Leslie Tucker Jenison

I had a lovely play day at City Quilter last weekend, it was so nice to take a class, I’m usually teaching!

Leslie showed us a fab technique for creating quilt tops in a fast and improvisational way and this is the result. It’s a bit of a funny shape but I think it’s finished, it’s fine for a throw. I started off with a John Louden dotty mini roll (given to me by my friend Steph) and added some strips cut from fat quarters including the dark Japanese looking fabric which is called Brooklyn Heights, I’m intrigued as to why but it’s pretty all the same! – also a gift 🙂

This method is a great stash buster.

 LTJQuilttop

The darker areas were made in class and the lighter background was pieced afterwards, what fun, I couldn’t put it down.

Sorry about the rubbish picture, this is pressed believe it or not, it will look so much better when it’s quilted but it has to go to one side for now as I have another project that needs my attention. Can’t wait to see what the other lovely ladies made, I’m hoping they will post pics on Leslies blog.

ps If you see any ads here, they are added by wordpress. I’m deciding whether to upgrade so I don’t get them, are they a problem for you?

12 comments on “Class with Leslie Tucker Jenison

  1. KerryCan
    October 2, 2013

    Nice color combination! That’s going to fabulous when quilted–looking froward to the photos! And PS–I don’t see any ads.

  2. mandymunroe
    October 2, 2013

    thanks for the feedback – not my usual colour scheme. No ads -Great !

  3. vickymcdougall
    October 2, 2013

    I somehow lost the comment I was typing! The quilt looks good, makes me want to at least finish one quilt off 🙂 I do not see any ads either.

  4. treadlemusic
    October 2, 2013

    Love the top!! Not something I would have thought of, but very appealing and just begs for stitching to give it life!!!! The ads haven’t started to appear….yet! Sign of the times, I guess……..someone has to pay for this “free” blogging, hmmmm????? Hugs……..

    • mandymunroe
      October 12, 2013

      You’re right, the quilting could change it completely, must think that through. Still deciding whether to upgrade or not.

      • treadlemusic
        October 12, 2013

        Always something “out there” to consider!! The ‘ad thing’ hasn’t shown up on the posts but I’ve noticed that on some sites they have “overrun” the page (I think it’s “Blogger”). I’m still very happy with Wp, even though I now write the post in Windows’ Live Writer. Seems to be a bit more friendly when it comes to arranging the photos.

  5. Forest So Green
    October 3, 2013

    I like the colors, very nice, Annie

  6. rosyragpatch
    October 3, 2013

    I like the colour combination. It’s a really good stashbusting idea.
    I can’t see any ads either. I’ve wondered about this on my blog – I think it’s for people not signed in to WordPress so it’s hard to know what’s there.

  7. Leslie Tucker Jenison
    October 4, 2013

    Woo Hoo! This looks amazing! Thanks for posting about the workshop. It was such fun to have you there and I really love what you did with your pieces from class!
    Best,
    Leslie

  8. Mary Pat
    October 12, 2013

    Hey there. Ads don’t bother me so do what’s best for you. I just enjoy seeing what you’re up to. Fun quilt you made at class, but frankly – lacking a bit of your normal jazzy colors! Talk soon

    • mandymunroe
      October 12, 2013

      Thanks for the feedback, not my usual colour scheme at all. I enjoyed working on something different though and busting my stash! x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2013 by in Workshops and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

