mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Wool Week, This Week

71172_113759198670239_1564628590_q

14th – 20th October 2013

The Campaign for Wool is a multi-national, cross-industry coalition working together to raise the profile of wool as the natural sustainable fibre for fashion and interiors. It is funded by the British Wool Marketing Board, International Wool Textile Organisation, Australian Wool Innovation, Council of New Zealand Wool Interests Inc., Viking Wool of Norway, the National Sheep Association and important sheep producing nations of the world.

All working together! – I love their ad!

picknit-campaign-ad

If you’re going on a PicKnit, don’t forget to wear your hat.

I’ve just finished this, it’s knitted from Drops Wool and Alpaca with a strand of Hand Weaving Wool Worsted, modeled by Marvin.

Marvins New Hat

And this is some charity shop wool I dyed with a sachet of Lemon/Lime Koolaid. (I wasn’t sure it was 100% wool but the colour has come up well, so it’s wool)!

P1020303

I shall take this and my crochet hook to the park and have a stab at that apple coaster pattern in Simply Crochet.

Are you “celebrating all things woolly”?

 

4 comments on “Wool Week, This Week

  1. mosaicthinking
    October 16, 2013

    Personally, I am celebrating all things woolly with the discovery that the weft on my my just finished woven scarf is Icelandic wool. I bought the wool at a guild sale. It must have come to the sale from someone else’s undone knitting project, and the label was buried within the rewound ball. Half way through my weaving project I found the label and it said ‘Made in Iceland.’ That’s a long journey.

  2. mandymunroe
    October 16, 2013

    How exciting! I hope you’ll be posting a pic on your blog, will watch out for it πŸ™‚

  3. Mary Pat Smith
    October 20, 2013

    I don’t knit or crochet, but I’d buy a hat from you! Don’t know if I can carry it off as well as Marvin, but I’d give it a try.

    • mandymunroe
      October 21, 2013

      Aw, it’s pretty substantial so should be warm. You don’t have to be blue to wear this hat πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2013 by in Events, Projects and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

