mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

What’s on My Needles

Another Koolaid dyeing session with sock wool produced these yummies back in the summer.

Grape, Black Cherry and Pink Lemonade.

KoolaidWool

I use a large enamel bath on the stove top so I can drag the wool through the dye. As the grape colour splits, the red dyes the cream wool and leaves the blue behind in the bath. When I drag some of the undyed cream wool through the left over colour, the lavender happens.

NeedlesMugHug

Knitting two strands together thickens it up and I love it when the soft pink lemonade and the lavender knit together .

The pattern is a mug cosy from an old Mollie Makes, a great combination of knit and pearl to create texture. I think I’ll get a few out of this and I’m enjoying the break from quilting.

10 comments on “What’s on My Needles

  1. treadlemusic
    November 12, 2013

    That color(s) is awesome!!! Those are my absolute faves and I have never seen such a lovely combo in a shop!!! Such a beautiful result.

  2. mandymunroe
    November 12, 2013

    Thanks Doreen, glad you like them, I was just playing and got lucky πŸ™‚

  3. ukcitycrafter
    November 12, 2013

    What beautiful colours – clever you!

    • mandymunroe
      November 12, 2013

      Thanks Chris, it smells fruity as it’s knitted too πŸ™‚

  4. salpal1
    November 12, 2013

    I have not gotten that creative using the kool aid, but I have done a bit of experimenting in the crock pot. I love how lemonade and blue raspberry come out, next up I am going to try lemon lime and blue raspberry. But the whole dragging through… hmmm, I might need a bigger crockpot.

    • mandymunroe
      November 12, 2013

      Sounds yummy! I have a plate next to the bath to rest the dyed part on. If you go too big with the pot you need more liquid or it burns – how do I know this…? To much liquid and you don’t get the really saturated colour. Isn’t it great when it works!

      • salpal1
        November 12, 2013

        hmmm, usually I toss it in, go to work, come home, give it a look, toss in another color, go to bed, and repeat until I like what I see. πŸ™‚ But yours is prettier, so I might have to revise my method. πŸ™‚

  5. cloudcoucou
    November 13, 2013

    How clever..such pretty colours πŸ™‚

  6. Heather McCaw Kerley
    November 16, 2013

    What a fun experiment! I have picked up knitting again after a long hiatus and I’m enjoying the break from painting. I never thought to dye my own wool, though. Doesn’t sound to difficult and the results are very pretty!

  7. Gallivanta
    November 17, 2013

    So kool!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2013 by in Projects and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

