mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

No, it’s Radiant Orchid

Apparently the blogisphere jumped too early on this one, me included.

Pantone have announced that the colour of 2014…. is Radiant Orchid not Dazzling Blue – that was only one of the colours they were thinking of. Somebody’s in trouble haha.

main_banner pantone

So soft purple then, not as pink as lilac, not as blue as lavender? – well that’s how I’d describe the background of this banner.

I can’t wear this colour, it’s too muted for me – but my hubby can as he’s a SUMMER  – so I’ll buy him some new shirts when they hit the stores next spring (he already has a few very similar) and whip them off him to recycle into my quilts and pillows in a years time 🙂

BUT – this is a soft plum and I think this is what all the fuss is about. It has warm undertones, is it vibrant enough for SPRINGs?

ChipDrive pantone

There was a Tutti Frutti sweet the colour of this chip. It was the only one in the pack I didn’t like the flavour of, but it always looked so appealing. Remember them? – 1970’s? So to me this is Tutti Frutti and I’ll be interested to see how easy it is to wear.

If you cant wear it, quilt with it 🙂

13 comments on “No, it’s Radiant Orchid

  1. treadlemusic
    December 6, 2013

    Love that color!!! Much more personality than the blue (for me!!!). Hugs……..

  2. *Wisher*
    December 7, 2013

    Wow.. What a beautiful shade..thanks for sharing..

  3. BeingZhenya
    December 7, 2013

    Thats a beautiful color! Can’t wait to buy and style something in that shade!
    ~Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

  4. ukcitycrafter
    December 7, 2013

    This is a much softer colour than the blue, like you, I’m not sure I’d wear it but I shall wait and see what appears in the shops.

  5. Forest So Green
    December 7, 2013

    Thank you for this post. I hear the color on the radio but had no idea what it looked like, Annie

  6. Gallivanta
    December 8, 2013

    Love your advice; if you can’t wear it, quilt it 🙂

  7. Mary Pat Smith
    December 8, 2013

    Think I probably could wear, but won’t – just don’t like purple in any tone. Sorry to see the Dazzling Blue undercut for top color! I can definitely see Mike in this color, perhaps we should devise a cocktail to match?

    • mandymunroe
      December 9, 2013

      He does like a challenge, sounds like a great group project! I didn’t know that about you and purple!

  8. jackiemallon
    December 8, 2013

    Love the concluding motto! 🙂

  9. Tansy Martin
    December 9, 2013

    Definitely my kind of colour – both quilting and layered t-shirts, etc. Having had my cataract operation I am now waiting to see if I go for more muted colours now as in Peggy Archer in the Archers, but can’t see it happening somehow.

    • mandymunroe
      December 9, 2013

      Hope it all went well. I think you and bright go so very well together I can’t see it happening either!

  10. poppytump
    January 1, 2014

    Wouldn’t suit me any more than the one in tuttu frutti bag Lol yes I remember them tiny crunchy vivid sweetie nuggets with sharp chewiness … oh getting all nostalgic now 😉
    Love your description of the colour !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2013 by in Events and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

