mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

A Year of Quilts

Time to review the year:

I had a pretty busy 2013, designing and making lots of craft projects, attending quilt shows including Houston (tick), writing the odd review, blogging and launching my first bag pattern in the US. Lots of fun small makes, crafty, crochet, knitty and a few quilts. The quilts I make now are usually for magazines so are top secret and I can’t show anyone until ages afterwards, the time lag meaning I’m then in the middle of other sneaky things. So what did I make in the last twelve months? And did I show you the finished quilts?

This Strippy Quilt I made in the spring, I think you’ve seen it, with fabrics designed by Hoodie.

SpringThrow

A throw inspired by the long stitches of Kantha quilts.

KanthaThrow

A signature quilt for Newcastle Fabrics

Newcastle Signature Quilt quilted by Shelly Pagliai.

My March Queen Bee Quilt from NYC Metro Mods – not strictly all my own work but it counts as a finish! (thanks Mods)

MarchBeeQuiltingsml

This Oakshott Meander (image pre-quilting) for the new Creative Quilting magazine (and a draught excluder – but that’s not a quilt so it doesn’t count).

OakshottTopcrp_edited-1

The Tippler repeat block quilt – I love how Bridget (the editor) kept the name!

TipplerPPsml

Then there was the Happy, Scrappy, Party in a Log Cabin Quilt (as named by Helen) 🙂

When I was featured in The Art of Quilting magazine the article was titled “The Versatile Quilter” which looking at this motley collection is about right. I’m seeing that as a positive as they really don’t seem to have much in common! I’ll have more to show you very soon.

I hope your year was productive and happy.

Happy New Year! Have a wonderful 2014

x Mandy

17 comments on “A Year of Quilts

  1. Oh Sew Tempting
    January 1, 2014

    Happy New Year! Your quilts are beautiful 🙂 I look forward to your new projects in 2014. Avis x

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      Thanks Avis, lovely to see your makes too, you inspired me to make a little apple green blackwork pic this year.

  2. treadlemusic
    January 1, 2014

    Here’s to another awesome year!!!!! Love your finishes!!!!!! You are one talented gal!!!!!! Hugs…….

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      Thanks Doreen, I must spend more time on the quilting, you put me to shame!

      • treadlemusic
        January 4, 2014

        It is the part of the process that I live for!!!!!! I so enjoy EVERYONE’S stitching……they are all inspiring to me!!!! I would rather that it possibly would be a bit of a challenge for you (that’s how I look at all that I see!!!!). I would want anyone feeling badly! Hugs and thank you so much for stopping by and all your sweet comments!!!!!

  3. KerryCan
    January 1, 2014

    These all look so wonderful! I love how different and varied they are–no rut for you! I just posted about a quilt I finished, too (only one for me!). If you’d like to take a peek, it’s here: http://lovethosehandsathome.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/starting-2014-by-finishing/

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      That’s one way of putting it, thanks Kerry. Love your ocean waves, great colours and all by hand, well done!

      • KerryCan
        January 4, 2014

        Thanks so much for taking a look!

  4. pomegranateandchintz
    January 2, 2014

    Such a variety of quilts made! Congratulations. Here’s to a fab 2014!!

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      Thanks Meredithe, you’ve been so supportive this year x

  5. pippinrunwild
    January 2, 2014

    Your quilts are beautiful! Happy new year, and happy quilting!

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      Thanks Pippin, quilting does make me happy 🙂

  6. Anny
    January 3, 2014

    So enjoyed seeing your beautiful projects! http://itssewanny.com/2014/01/02/thank-you-bloggers/

    • mandymunroe
      January 4, 2014

      Thanks Anny and thanks for the nomination for the Versatile Blogger award. I really must get organized on this!

  7. Mary Pat Smith
    January 3, 2014

    Mandy, all are amazing pieces of art. I am so proud to be able to say “I knew her at the very beginning of this amazing career”. You’ve come a long way, baby!

  8. daniellajoe
    January 17, 2014

    Happy New Year!!!! I love them all, especially the third one 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2014 by in Quilts and tagged , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

