mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Greenpoint Brooklyn

Last weekend I had a little explore over to Greenpoint, tempted by a free knitting class at Brooklyn Craft Company.

BCCSign

I’ve not been to this area before and having seen all the activity on the web launching this new initiative I was curious to check it out.

The space is large, versatile and uncluttered, and although getting into the warehouse style premises required a phone call, worth a visit.

BCCSpace

So many turned out and all so keen, it was exciting to see Sooooo many wanting to learn!

BCCKnitters

Everyone was very friendly and chatty. We were lucky to have the most luscious materials made available to us, the wool had been donated by Purl Soho and it was so soft……..

BCCWool

Brett is running all sorts of classes here, lamp and lampshade making, glass etching, cocktail mixology as well as some simple, fun crafts, I hope it continues to flourish.

Design Sponge are also located in the building and were having a clear out yard sale. Unfortunately they were pretty much “all cleared out” by the time I got there, darn it.

I noticed a sign for Paul Richard on one of the doors, which I didn’t really register at the time but on the way back to the G train I found this!

PaulRichard

I’ve seen this guys work down in Soho before, it looks like tar dribbled on the pavement (it is), so clever! I can’t believe I walked right past his studio.

There must be lots more to explore here, I’ve a feeling I’ll be back to this area again when it’s a bit warmer 🙂

GreenpointAveCC

6 comments on “Greenpoint Brooklyn

  1. linnyjcreations
    January 25, 2014

    Wow free wool and free class. How generous. It sounds like a very artistic area and a great place to explore.

  2. Tutti Germany
    January 25, 2014

    Great Place. Tanks for sharing:-D

  3. roma1912
    January 25, 2014

    What an amazing adventure, a lesson to us all to take a leap of faith and try something new, please please post again on this stunning creative area 🙂

    • mandymunroe
      January 28, 2014

      I have every intention of going back soon 🙂 I think in the spring there will be more doors open and I’ll realize how much is going on.

  4. Anny
    January 26, 2014

    How I would love to live in New York!

    • mandymunroe
      January 28, 2014

      It’s so cold now Anny and too hot in the summer, I have British blood, not used to it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2014 by in Events, Workshops and tagged , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

