mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

A few of my new favourite things

It was warm enough this weekend to venture out for a little retail therapy. The snow was beginning to melt and the temperatures have risen to just above freezing. The reservoir in the park is still frozen but there is water running and puddles!

Reservoir

ResFountainMandyMunroe

So we had a little mooch down to Fishs Eddies to see if the last of the January sales were going to yield any treasure – and surprise, we got a few bargains.

Lottacup

This Lotta espresso cup was a snip and I already have one. A pair is so much better, for buttons and threads.

TTowel

and this tea towel – hmm – well, just had to have it πŸ™‚

(I managed to resist the Charlie Harper dishes though, so my halo is shining)

Then over to the East Side for a thrift shop trawl…….

I love this! It was made in Indonesia, is dishwasher safe… so it’s not old, but that is it. No make, brand, no idea.

Plate

Hmm, there seems to be a trend here…maybe apple green is one of my new favourite things too.

RibbonBox

This ribbon box was $5! With some snippets of ribbon to show how it should be used, including some from Barneys. I’ve never seen anything like this before, maybe it is from a shop? – I mean used in a shop! Should I paint it?

Then we had 8″ of snow again yesterday.

Happy New February!

24 comments on “A few of my new favourite things

  1. tialys
    February 4, 2014

    I am jealous of your ribbon box. From the photo, the wood doesn’t look particularly good quality – if you don’t mind me saying! – but it might in real life and I don’t like painting over wood with lovely grain or patina. If it isn’t that great though I think it would look lovely painted and distressed with maybe a vintage graphic applied to it. I did a similar thing with an old workbox.

    • mandymunroe
      February 4, 2014

      I don’t mind at all – the wood is not great quality so I wouldn’t worry about painting over it, just need to find the right paint. Thanks for your input!

      • tialys
        February 4, 2014

        If you use chalk paint you don’t have to do any prep underneath and it distresses really well with wax. There’s a good English one called Annie Sloan but you can probably get it there or something similar. There is a lovely colour range with a vintage feel. I don’t work for them btw! πŸ™‚

      • mandymunroe
        February 4, 2014

        Haha, yes I know the brand, just looked them up and found they do tester pots! No prep sounds great, thanks! Any suggestions on colour?

  2. I.J. Bull
    February 4, 2014

    I do agree with the above comment. Don’t paint it , wood is lovely. I am soooo envious of your days out in NY.

    • mandymunroe
      February 4, 2014

      Wood is lovely, good wood is lovely! Have you found some good haunts in Harrogate? It gets so cold here some days you can’t go out.

  3. daniellajoe
    February 4, 2014

    Lovely trip!!!! Thanks for taking us along πŸ™‚

  4. Teresa Morgan
    February 4, 2014

    Lovely Mandy

    Great pics and I am so jealous of the ribbon box. Please find another one soon (for me? He he ) J J

    (I have been buying fabrics from Texas and sent them to our licensing agent in NY for suzanne to hand-carry back to me next week..) lovely too.

    Love

    T

    • mandymunroe
      February 4, 2014

      I’m sure your hubby could knock one of these up in a jiffy, I’ll show you the inside rod that holds the reels. Cheeky fabric, excellent!

  5. little red monkey
    February 4, 2014

    Your espresso cup is beautiful, I love the colours

    • mandymunroe
      February 4, 2014

      I know, she is great with colour, have you seen her fabrics, they are to die for!

  6. Tutti Germany
    February 4, 2014

    The ribbonbox is just abut the limit!

  7. pippinrunwild
    February 4, 2014

    Wow, it looks chilly in New York! What great finds, especially the ribbon box.

  8. pomegranateandchintz
    February 4, 2014

    Great finds!! Yes! Paint the ribbon box – what a fabulous container for ribbons!!

  9. Doreen
    February 5, 2014

    I find it hard to pick a fave….but that ribbon box…..Wow!!! awesome!!!!!! “You done good”!!!!! Hugs………..

  10. craftysorcha
    February 5, 2014

    I love your finds, particularly the plate, very cute!

    • mandymunroe
      February 5, 2014

      I’m really enjoying using it. The “lacy” background where the glaze has been scratched back really adds to the design and there are stork footprints stamped on the back πŸ™‚

  11. rags4bags
    February 5, 2014

    Another Lotta and a ribbon box-what more could a woman want!

  12. roma1912
    February 5, 2014

    Love the ribbon box I would give it home space in a heart beat πŸ˜€ I NEED retail therapy now I’ve seen all your goodies…

  13. Lee O'Connor
    February 5, 2014

    I agree, use Annie Sloan chalk paint, no sanding and comes in fabulous colours. Good ideas on her website too. Paint it and don’t feel guilty about the wood Mandy!

  14. Anny
    February 5, 2014

    Love, love, love the ribbon box! You are so lucky!

    • mandymunroe
      February 5, 2014

      I know! – I’ve never seen another anywhere.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2014 by in Thrifting and tagged , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

