mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

I feel a quilt coming on…..

Haha, there’s always a quilt or six in my head but March was my turn to be Queen Bee again in the NYC Metro Mod Lucky 13 Bee. (As there are now just 12 of us I guess we’re just “Lucky”)!

Soooo, this was what I asked for: -Two tall, skinny blocks 6 ½” x 12 ½”

My colour scheme:-  green apple, mint, pink, grey and pale blue.

I sent out some 7” wide strips which provided the majority of the fabric and asked if everyone would please add a few of their own for variety. You will see I deviated slightly with some of my colours -black and white town print (cool) and chartreuse (warm), I was hoping for a soft, modern look.

MailoutMandyMunroe

I also asked if everyone could include at least one pieced strip. The strips could be wonky but the finished blocks should be trimmed to 6 ½” x 12 ½”.

This was my trial block…….

MarchBeeBlockwp

Do you recognize some of these fabrics? – cheeky purchases from Houston, I couldn’t/shouldn’t resist, totally justified now there’s a PROJECT!!!

…….with a few snippets from the swap table at a guild meeting (thank you kind swappers – love that bold pink print, it fits so well).

AND THIS IS WHAT EVERYONE MADE ME!

BeeBlocksMandyMunroe

Thank you so much!!!! Very exciting!!!!…. So now…………. to the quilt….hmmmm!

(* disclaimer * – just because I have suggested that buying fabric is justified when it becomes part of a “project” shouldn’t imply that justification is necessary. Fabric can be bought to be displayed or stroked, looked at, admired and put away again, keeping it whole is OK too. Purchasing/acquiring fabric should been seen as a necessity, adding to your palette (or stash) is an important part of being a quilter and has the added benefit of increasing your well being 🙂

Happy quilting!

 

 

16 comments on “I feel a quilt coming on…..

  1. I.J. Bull
    April 10, 2014

    Thank God I’m normal. Never told anyone that I look at, stroke and drool over my fabrics! Loved the garden in Kent, too
    Love the blocks.

  2. mandymunroe
    April 10, 2014

    🙂

  3. ukcitycrafter
    April 10, 2014

    You mean there are people who DON’T stroke fabric – well that’s just weird!!

  4. tialys
    April 10, 2014

    I think that’s the first disclaimer I’ve ever seen that I’ve liked.

  5. sandy
    April 10, 2014

    this was my first time doing anything wonky. At first, it didn’t feel right. All the blocks look so amazing together. I can’t wait to see it finished!

    • mandymunroe
      April 14, 2014

      Your blocks are lovely Sandy, thank you! btw don’t hold your breath, I’m enjoying playing with them, the quilt will be a while yet!

      • snaval2
        April 14, 2014

        No rush on my part. It took me 11 years to finish my son’t wedding quilt.

  6. Doreen
    April 11, 2014

    Makes perfect sense to me!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  7. pomegranateandchintz
    April 11, 2014

    How much fun are you going to have with those fabulous blocks??!! Love the disclaimer!

  8. mandymunroe
    April 14, 2014

    Haha, this is turning out to be a confessions page for quilters! Salivating, drooling, stroking are all perfectly fine in my book 🙂

  9. Tina
    April 16, 2014

    I spy my two blocks!

    • mandymunroe
      April 16, 2014

      On top of the pile I believe! Thank you I love them x

  10. Tansy Martin
    April 16, 2014

    A good stash of fabric is a necessity for my wellbeing and much better for me than chocolate or cake (although we can always manage this as well). Nothing more uplifting to the soul than an exciting new print or some fabulous colour. Watched an allotment programme on BB2 last night where I was getting excited about the different colours of radishes and how they would translate in fabric. Got to get out more.

    • mandymunroe
      April 16, 2014

      Out into the garden and to the quilt shops! – It snowed here last night 😦

  11. Tansy Martin
    April 17, 2014

    Sorry to upset you, but the bluebells are well and truly out now and are looking magnificent in the Kentish sunshine. Walked up at Kings Wood last weekend in a carpet of bluebells followed by huge cream tea at Shelleys on Chilham village square. How about that for a British sense of identity?

  12. mandymunroe
    April 17, 2014

    Salivating and drooling all over again! The bluebells are a few weeks early then, such a beautiful sight I miss x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2014 by in Fabrics, Projects, Quilts and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

