mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Portable Crochet (and a bit of knitting)

Whizzing backwards and forwards across the pond on and off of planes and trains requires planning. Projects to keep my itchy fingers busy need planning too. With my ever growing collection of yarn, usually odd balls that I couldn’t resist….. at that price it would be rude not to…. I’m always on the look out for patterns for small projects that travel lightly and use up what I have. This means that I’ll often grab a pattern and a yarn I like, a hook or needles that work with the yarn and “experiment” with a different gauge, no swatches for me! (bad, bad, bad) There have been a few disasters. Occasionally something works, like the Debbie Bliss baby bootees knitted up in aran weight then felted down into “wellies”. The Joelle Hoverson tea cozy downsized nicely to a hat, this is my second recently completed.

HatJoelleH2

This baby sweater pattern by Nicki Trench used up a fair bit, I still need to get round to sewing it up – (note the one ball of this and the one ball of that). Stripes are perfect for odd leftovers but now there are leftover leftovers. (…..it will look more like the picture soon)

BabySweater

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to have a go at some filet crochet. Having tried a 1tr, 1ch lattice heart pattern in Simply Crochet Magazine, I’ve simplified to just the lattice (for easy airport picking up and putting down), using this one ball of gorgeous King Cole bamboo cotton I couldn’t resist at Unravel. It’s so soft and just the right colour!

FiletScarfMandyMunroe

(and that’s my little patchwork bag I carry my projects in). I’ll just continue the lattice until the ball runs out, I may even join it up into a cowl. It should be just the thing to sit in the top of my coat and keep the breeze off my neck now we have a different sort of white stuff in Central Park.

BlossomMandyMunroeCentral Park

Beautiful Cherry blossom and blue sky at last, we’re catching up!

12 comments on “Portable Crochet (and a bit of knitting)

  1. tialys
    April 24, 2014

    Great to have some portable projects when you travel so much. How are you able to take pointy things like knitting needles and crochet hooks on the plane though?

    • mandymunroe
      April 24, 2014

      I’m careful to take only cheap wooden or bamboo knitting needles (not metal) and up till recently took a plastic crochet hook. I now use my free Mollie Makes half metal half bamboo one which handles nicely, so nothing I can’t afford to have removed. Crochet is less of a worry on that front too, with only one stitch to pick up later! I always say that I’ll learn to knit on pencils or chopsticks …. but not to the staff at the X ray machine 🙂

  2. I.J. Bull
    April 24, 2014

    I’m flying to Vancouver on Monday, was going to ask same question as above, good timing. I have one or two very old (i think they are ivory) hooks, will take those! Thanks.

  3. mandymunroe
    April 24, 2014

    They might be bone, antique heirlooms? Have you got time to pick up a cheap plastic one in a charity shop? – on the whole the staff are fine but I’d hate for you to lose something precious, it might snap in your bag too. Have a great trip!

  4. treadlemusic
    April 24, 2014

    Love that little filet scarf….the color is so pretty!!! I’m amazed you can fly with those, too, but I s’pose it depends on the airport maybe.

    • mandymunroe
      April 25, 2014

      The airlines make the rules and seem to be OK as long as they’re not sharp. I flew a lot last year with a plastic tipped circular needle and didn’t have any trouble at all. Glad you like my scarf, it’s coming up really quickly 🙂

      • treadlemusic
        April 25, 2014

        The airlines never cease to amaze me with their rules!!! I’m glad about this one. Have a great weekend!!!!

  5. jackiemallon
    April 25, 2014

    A couple sizes up and I’d snatch that tea cosy hat and striped tank top. Adorable!

    • mandymunroe
      April 25, 2014

      Haha, thanks! Trying not to freak my kids out by making too many baby clothes!

  6. Chrissie Randall
    April 25, 2014

    I’m currently on holiday in Turkey minus crafts 😦 as I didn’t think I could bring on knitting needles – loving the chopstick idea!

    • mandymunroe
      April 25, 2014

      It’s worth a go Chrissie, we can’t have you craftless for a whole holiday! Desperate measures! (or buy some needles there, if they are in checked luggage they’re fine to come back). Have a great holiday x

  7. KerryCan
    April 26, 2014

    I love the idea of small projects in order to stay productive–you found some great ones!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2014 by in Projects and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

