mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Bloggers Quilt Festival

spring-2014-BQF-Button-300x290

Something huge is going on and I’ve just got wind of it! This week an online Bloggers Quilt Festival is taking place, organized by Amy Ellis over at AmysCreativeSide to give us quilters something to do while Quilt Market is happening and to take our minds off all of those lovely fabrics that we can’t get our hands on yet – so I thought I’d better jump to it and join in!

LogCabinmandymunroe

I’ve just (JUST, I mean five minutes ago) finished binding this Log Cabin Interrupted (that’s what I’m calling it) so I thought it would be fitting to enter this now, there’s no time like the present. Next year I’ll be more organised!

LCIdetail

As you probably know I love a log cabin and I was playing with some Finstall fabrics that a very lovely quilt buddy gave me for my birthday and was trying to introduce some space into the design. This is what I came up with and it will be a sample for a new class soon. I wish I knew what the multicoloured geometric fabric was so I could credit the designer, unfortunately I only had a FQ…… the one without the selvedge.

LCIdetail2

Random thought of the day……..It’s a pity you can’t PLAY blogs, you know, press a button and have all the lovely pictures (of quilts) roll across and fill your screen, WHILE you stitch πŸ™‚

I’ve entered this into the Modern Quilts section.

Lots and lots of beautiful quilts are being posted, so click on the link above to see lots of the lovely quilts being shared. I must thank Amy at CloudCouCou and ChrissyD for bringing this event to my attention.

Have a Happy Quilty day!

 

31 comments on “Bloggers Quilt Festival

  1. cloudcoucou
    May 18, 2014

    Didn’t expect to see my name here, thanks Mandy! Love your take on the log cabin, it’s a great idea to play with the space πŸ™‚

  2. citricsugar
    May 18, 2014

    Very modern take on the log cabin! I love improv and log cabins so this makes me happy.

  3. pomegranateandchintz
    May 19, 2014

    Love this concept , Mandy. Looks fab!

  4. treadlemusic
    May 19, 2014

    That is so awesome!!!!!! The whole feel is wonderful!!!!

  5. jackiemallon
    May 19, 2014

    It’s very modern and chic. Good luck! x

  6. Diane W
    May 19, 2014

    Love your quilt, very modern.

  7. ukcitycrafter
    May 19, 2014

    That really is a modern twist on an old favourite Mandy, love all the ‘space’.

  8. vintageattitude
    May 19, 2014

    Very contemporary….great job!

  9. Mary Pat Smith
    May 19, 2014

    Hey Mandy – you’ve got some strong competition, but your Log Cabin Interrupted stands out as so clean and crisp. Good Luck!!

  10. madebychrissied
    May 19, 2014

    Love it Mandy, hope you’ll bring it along to our next Guild meeting so I can have a proper look at it – fab negative space the white creates πŸ˜€

  11. hilary florence
    May 20, 2014

    I love this. Of the ones I’ve seen so far, this gets my vote

  12. Mandy
    May 20, 2014

    Very striking, love it!!

  13. Candace
    May 21, 2014

    Great idea! Beautiful!

  14. I agree with Mary Pat Smith, your quilt stands out in the linky – clean and crisp, good luck.

  15. angela moore
    May 21, 2014

    I love what you did with the Log Cabins. It is a shame that you can’t just press a button and watch all the beautiful quilts while you stitch.

  16. Lynne Tyler
    May 21, 2014

    Very beautiful. One of my favorites for sure!

  17. Tiffany
    May 22, 2014

    This is awesome. πŸ™‚

  18. Nicole
    May 23, 2014

    Love the straight line quilting!

  19. Olga
    May 23, 2014

    I like it a quilt! Beautifully! Original! Great!

  20. Pam
    May 23, 2014

    Love it

  21. Cheryl
    May 24, 2014

    Very striking use of negative space, lovely!

  22. Anne
    May 24, 2014

    I love this design! Very modern and striking. The quilting really adds a lot to this as well. Beautiful job!

  23. Amazing how leaving some negative space makes such a statement! REALLY cool!

  24. There is wonderful contrast and abstractness about your quilt.

  25. mandymunroe
    June 2, 2014

    Thanks for all of your lovely comments and to all of the lovely people who voted for me. My quilt came 5th in the Modern Quilts section πŸ™‚

    • Claire Desrochers
      December 28, 2015

      Hi there,
      Is there a pattern available for this gorgeous quilt?

      • mandymunroe
        December 28, 2015

        Hi Claire, I’m glad you like it πŸ™‚ I pieced this quilt spontaneously, the method is known as improvisational (improv) piecing. There is no pattern I’m afraid although I did teach the technique in a workshop at Festival NEC last year. If you have made a log cabin you could have a go at this. Restrict your colour scheme right down and include lots of background!

  26. wendy
    June 6, 2014

    gorgeous quilt, really love the modern aesthetic

  27. knittingwithheart
    July 11, 2014

    Only 5th place?!? You make me wish I could sew, and I absolutely love this modern log cabin quilt design of yours! πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

  28. Stephanie Chittum
    April 27, 2017

    I love the interrupted log cabin quilt! Do you have a pattern or any pointers of how to make it? I’m sorry if that’s rude to ask, but I love it and unfortunately rely on patterns I wish I were more creative! thanks!

  29. mandymunroe
    April 27, 2017

    Thanks Stephanie. No pattern as it’s pieced spontaneously, see my reply to Claire above, have a go!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2014 by in Events, Quilts and tagged , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

