mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Tiffanys, Thrifting and Threads

If you found a blue Tiffanys box out on the street, out for the garbage, wouldn’t you check inside?!

Haha, it was empty but such a GREAT box, great colour, great size, there must have been something big in this. Look how much thread it (now) holds 🙂

TiffanyBoxThreads_mandymunroe

(The buttons were from The Save the Children charity shop). Then there were more threads up for grabs at the 77th street market. I was SOOOO restrained, I only bought two bags at $2 – a bag!

Threadsmandymunroe

Where am I going to put these? – I need another box 🙂 And I suppose I should confess to the haul from Pennsylvania (glossed over briefly in a previous post) – rescued, rehoused, so here they are.

PAHaul

The tray cloth is so pretty I can’t wait to use it and how could I have forgotten to tell you about that lovely little vintage green crochet thing that ties onto a teapot (any ideas what it’s called)? The lace will go along the bottom of the bathroom curtain and the mint green crochet cotton is being used for a lattice jar cover from a Lucille Randall pattern in simply crochet magazine – on the wrong size hook so it’s coming up a little on the large side, hehe 🙂

So that’s my confessions over for this month!

10 comments on “Tiffanys, Thrifting and Threads

  1. tialys
    May 27, 2014

    You sound just as excited as if you’d found something gold inside the box!

    • mandymunroe
      May 27, 2014

      Haha, you got that about right, it is a VERY NICE box 🙂

  2. KerryCan
    May 27, 2014

    I gave a young friend a pair of Tiffany goblets for her wedding–I swear she liked the box better than the wineglasses! You got a good haul–love the tray cloth!

  3. ukcitycrafter
    May 28, 2014

    Brilliant haul! Every now and again all the sifting through charity shops pays off and it looks as if it was your lucky day!

  4. pomegranateandchintz
    May 28, 2014

    Ooh, nice haul! I do love that Tiffany blue!

  5. pippinrunwild
    May 28, 2014

    Love all those pretty threads! I definitely know that “need-another-box” feeling…

  6. I.J. Bull
    May 28, 2014

    Reminds me of a wooden weaving thingy my daughter-in-law bought at a yard sale in Vanvouver just in case! She too is a squirrel!

  7. treadlemusic
    May 28, 2014

    Next to searching for all those little pieces of gorgeousness, I love to find the unexpected treasure that will hold/organize those items. Love “success” posts!!!!! LOL!!!!

  8. Tansy Martin
    May 29, 2014

    I think all seamstresses love little boxes for sewing – I found a great tin box in John Lewis yesterday as part of its 150 year celebrations. Very Audrey Hepburnesque figure on front of tin with John Lewis building – lovely 50’s feel. Unfortunately, not free so your Tiffany box definitely beats it on the find scale. -Just right for my applique pieces – I seem to be spending a lot of time at the Olympic Velodrome watching my son go round the track so a bit of handsewing is going down very well.

  9. Helen Beall
    June 15, 2014

    Tiffany blue is definitely my favorite color!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Thrifting, Vintage and tagged , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

