mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Smarden Dragons and Kentish Artists

Today I headed over to West End House Gallery in Smarden, a lovely little village in the Kent countryside. The gallery is very supportive of local artists and they have some amazing work on show by Kaija Bulbrook which is well worth a look. While I was there Karen took delivery of some garden stakes, with the easily recognizable Smarden Dragon design (also known as a Wyvern). They have been forged by Cranbrook Iron specially for the events in the village this weekend, which include a Classic Car Show and Open Gardens.

SmardenWyvern

(Dragon in my garden)

Guess who had to have one of these cuties, isn’t he lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

This weekend is also the last weekend of South East Open Studios, the last chance to visit and chat with artists in their studios and buy directly from them. (see SEOS-art for details of artists studios all over Kent)

On my way back from the gallery I stopped in at the farm shop for some Biddenden Cider and Kentish Cherries. (I also spotted some charity quilts for sale made by local quilters in Egerton.)

Unfortunately I didn’t find any open gardens en route so didn’t get to buy any plants or manage a sneaky cream tea. (They are mostly open at the weekends –ย  you can pick up a National Garden Scheme brochure or check www.ngs.org.uk)

I then popped over to Mersham and picked up some wine from the Vinorium. The labels on this wine have been designed by famed local artist and ambassador for Kent, Graham Clark.

GrahamClarkesWine

I believe this chap on the label is called Gaston Du Plonkย  – I’ll be keeping these special bottles after the wine has been dispatched ๐Ÿ™‚

If you need something to do other than watch the football this weekend, there’s a lot on offer here in Kent right now.

DelphiniumKent

(Delphinium in my garden)

Have a lovely weekend!

11 comments on “Smarden Dragons and Kentish Artists

  1. vjcollins
    June 19, 2014

    Wow, what a beautiful blue! I’m mad about blue flowers. Will have to add delphiniums to the collection!

    • mandymunroe
      June 20, 2014

      Godinton House and Gardens have a Delphinium Festival run by the Delphinium Society that starts next week. I shall be visiting and hopefully adding a few more, I love them too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Vikky
    June 19, 2014

    We were open Mandy! Closed now as we have an antarctic reunion of Chris’s in Buxton (somewhere up North!). See you soon. Lots love V&C

    • mandymunroe
      June 20, 2014

      Oh no, I missed you! Didn’t have my guide with me, glad I got to visit and catch up earlier. Have a great time x

  3. treadlemusic
    June 20, 2014

    Blue flowers are my weakness and those delphiniums absolutely glow. I have Mountain Columbines that are blue but not quite that iridescent!!!!

  4. Mary Pat Smith
    June 20, 2014

    Mandy – what a fun day! I want a garden stake, some of that fun wine and a snip of your delphinium!

  5. nickirocky
    June 20, 2014

    Love the garden stakes. Would love to see something like that in our area, but the only local legends revolve around King Arthur, King Alfred or St. Swithun!

  6. KerryCan
    June 21, 2014

    Looks like a pretty-much-perfect day! I’d love a weekend exploring your area!

    • mandymunroe
      June 24, 2014

      Such beautiful countryside, I can’t get enough of it after the city ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. durrantcomms
    March 15, 2015

    I used to teach at Smarden primary. Lovely school, lovely village. I stumbled upon this while searching for something else. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

