mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Why do you Quilt?

I have the lovely Penny staying with me at the moment, she is interning for a fabric designer over in Brooklyn as part of her textile degree. We’ve had a whirlwind week of Quilters Take Manhattan, a workshop with Amy Butler, visits to Mood and City Quilter Gallery and a NYCMetroMod quilters meeting.
She is asking why we quilt? So I thought I’d ask you – Why do you Quilt?

MandyMunroeShutterQuiltwordpress

We’d love to know your views, if you’d like to comment let us know which part of the world you’re from too 🙂

9 comments on “Why do you Quilt?

  1. rags4bags
    October 1, 2014

    Love the quilt BTW. Hi Penny! Glad you are having a great time. I quilt because I have always loved fabric and have to have something textile based in my hands of an evening. It is therapeutic and creative and makes me happy!

  2. KerryCan
    October 1, 2014

    I’m here from upstate New York. I quilt as one of many textile-based crafts I meander through. I do it mostly, I think, because I love the tradition and feeling connected to quilters who came before me.

  3. Mary Pat Smith
    October 1, 2014

    My question, sadly, is Why DON’T I quilt, anymore? I love the colors, the fabric, the feel of quilting, but I just haven’t worked it back into my life. Sad, but true. So my advice to all of you – never stop quilting – it’s such a beautiful art and should be treasured!

  4. Karen Martin
    October 1, 2014

    Hi Mandy! This is me from Southern England

    I quilt because I love the feel, touch and smell(!) of fabric. Quilting sends me to a place where I can see colours and shapes and picture them together.

    I originally started quilting the day I dropped my son off at uni 9 years ago and was walking past a fabric/wool shop in Canterbury crying my eyes out! I went in and came out with fabric, a sewing machine on order and lessons with Mandy booked. That changed my life and filled my spare room!!!

  5. pomegranateandchintz
    October 1, 2014

    Quilting satisfies a creative urge, but it is also a form of meditation, particularly hand sewing. AND I’ve made fabulous friendships, including blog friends, and LOVE my stitching days (and weekends away) with my sewing friends, sharing stories, laughter, food, fabric and sewing ideas and techniques. Quilting is an essential part of my life. Meredithe from Australia.

  6. janprytz
    October 1, 2014

    I’m in So. Calif. I quilt to keep busy. I’m 70 and retired; quilting fills my time and provides a wonderful creative outlet. I’m very busy, I’m married, I teach Tai Chi, etc, but I consider quilting my “day job”. So many seniors just sit around, I’d rather be productive.

  7. tialys
    October 2, 2014

    I started quilting when I still lived in the U.K. I used to go to a local fabric shop where a small group of us met every other week and worked on a big table between the shelves of fabric. We had a teacher but it was very informal. The first quilt I made was a king size sampler quilt and I was hooked. I live in France now and still try to have a quilt of some sort on the go although usually smaller ones. I must admit that I prefer the process of choosing fabric, planning the quilt and piecing it to the actual quilting – mostly because I’m still not great at that bit – but I just can’t resist all that beautiful fabric. I make clothes too but I have to remember that the sort of fabrics I like for quilts don’t necessarily make for a suitable dress!

  8. cindy-liveacolorfullife
    October 3, 2014

    I saw this on Instagram this morning and I just love it!! It covers ALL the bases for me–great graphic design and stunning use of just the right colors. I quilt because I think it is seriously built into my DNA. I have tried nearly every other creative endeavor and quilting is the one that has “stuck.” I come from a long line of quilters, and quilting is a big part of my church heritage as well. It’s tactile, artistic, and comforting during hard times.

  9. ukcitycrafter
    October 6, 2014

    I live in the UK and I quilt and craft to keep me sane! After many years of being too busy to be creative I discovered quilting and it gave me a way to use my talents in an artistic way. I love the variety of skills you need to master and the freedom to express yourself in colour and design. The final products are pretty cool to own as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2014 by in Quilts and tagged .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

