mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Sidewalk Shopping (again)

ClockfacesidewalkAnother exciting find, out for the bins!

It is slightly inconvenient coming across such treasure on the way out for an evening but it’s amazing how understanding and helpful everyone can be. This was discarded on top of a pile of rubbish sacks, the clock mechanism still attached but no hands. We were in between bars and there was a little bet going on as to whether I would be allowed into the next one. No problem, the bouncer very kindly offered to put this beautiful piece of ironwork “somewhere safe for a while”. Isn’t it great!

It is temporarily under glass as a table top but I have designs on upcycling it into a chandelier for the front hallway very soon.

Oh, and I thought you might like to see my thrifty and practical solution to spool, bobbin angst. When the light is not great and telling white from warm white, mid grey from slightly darker mid grey is tricky, store your spools with it’s matching bobbin using a kebab skewer or cocktail stick and a cork. I used a sharpie to label them with the relevant project too 🙂
(sorry about the shaky pic)

BobbinSpoolmandymunroe

So hang on to your corks 🙂
Happy Friday!
Mandy

8 comments on “Sidewalk Shopping (again)

  1. pamelajeannestudio
    October 10, 2014

    The clock would make a great quilting design!

  2. Anny
    October 11, 2014

    A girl after my own heart. lol

  3. KerryCan
    October 11, 2014

    I think you would love another blog I follow: http://garbagefinds.com/. The author makes his living going through garbage in Montreal and selling what he finds on eBay and Etsy. Too fascinating!

  4. tialys
    October 11, 2014

    You have more courage than me! I probably would have gone for it if I was going straight home but not if I was ‘between bars’ as you sweetly put it – sounds like a pub crawl to me 😉
    I have one of these on my wall, complete with hands, but if I ever get fed up with it, thank you for the refashioning tips.

  5. pippinrunwild
    October 11, 2014

    It’s amazing where treasure can be found! Love your chandelier plan… what a fantastic idea!

  6. Jessica Jayne
    October 12, 2014

    Beautiful!

  7. pomegranateandchintz
    October 13, 2014

    I love your find, Mandy and can’t wait to see the transformation!

  8. mosaicthinking
    October 27, 2014

    Sadly I have been put on a sidewalk shopping diet. A fast, actually. My beloved has a point of view about getting rid of stuff rather than acquiring more so I’m prohibited from stopping when I see something useful.

    I like your cork and skewer idea. I have the same problem keeping spools and bobbins together. Gave my corks for recycling some time ago though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2014 by in Projects, Thrifting and tagged , , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

