mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

QuiltCon Charity Quilt Challenge

The Modern Quilt Guild issued a challenge to make a modern charity quilt from the colour scheme below. They’ve cleverly grouped individual members together by area so we can pool our resources and make it happen.

I’ve just finished my block using deep turquoise and I’m hoping the description of the colour is more representative than the image shown in this guide. The colour scheme is described as white, light gray, chartreuse, burnt orange, sky blue, cerise and a deep turquoise – but it looks darkish blue to me!

color_palette_2MQG

(image from the Modern Quilt Guild)

They also suggested we seek out the suggested fabrics to get a feel for the colours first, but I thought I’d skip that stage and I’m regretting it now.

This is a sneak peak of my pieced block, with the American Made Brand Light grey #5 from Gotham Quilts.

QuiltConCharityBlock

My block is looking more sky blue than deep turquoise here but it is darker than this really, the sun was out when I took the photo.

My main fabric is called Teal but to me that sounds more green than it is. As long as the sky blue blocks are lighter than mine, I think I’ll get away with it, I have my fingers crossed I’m not letting the team down. They have arranged a get together to layout and piece the blocks and one of the members has kindly offered to quilt it. It seems we’re on schedule to get it finished by January – so far!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Fabrics, Projects, Quilts and tagged , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

