mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Friday Finish

Not sure I’ve ever finished a project on a Friday before, or maybe I’m just more aware now lots of you out there are sharing yours!

Ta-dah, a little lavender cushion for my wool basket, about 5″ square 🙂

LavenderCushionmandymunroe

It was from a Candlewick kit I found in a charity shop, with instructions on how to do  “Colonial Knots”. The calico was printed and there were plenty of them to practice and get just so. The kit also included some lace for around the outside but I’m not really into frills so I left that off.

ColonialKnots

This is the sum total of my lavender harvest this year!

MyLavender

From two little bushes – that did survive the winter and are coming along just nicely thank you, let’s be positive.

It’s all dried and there was just enough to fill an insert that I slid into the stuffed cushion before sewing up.

11 comments on “Friday Finish

  1. treadlemusic
    November 28, 2014

    Sweet! I haven’t done candlewicking in years. I always found it to be quite relaxing!!! Of course, I’ve always loved making French knots!!!!!

    • mandymunroe
      November 29, 2014

      I hadn’t come across candlewicking before and was curious to try it. I really enjoyed this small project 🙂

      • treadlemusic
        November 29, 2014

        I’m curious…..would you try another project?? I’m just beginning to see a few such projects in the needlework depts.

      • mandymunroe
        December 4, 2014

        Try another Candlewick project? – yes, although this 5″ square was big enough for me. Too many other projects are calling!

      • treadlemusic
        December 4, 2014

        And therein lies the dilemma. I would love to do another candlewicking project but have way too many other “irons in the fire”!!!!!!

  2. ukcitycrafter
    November 28, 2014

    That is so lovely, it doesn’t need anything extra like lace.

    • mandymunroe
      November 29, 2014

      Thank you Chris, the lace was polyester which also influenced my decision!

  3. valerie_y
    November 28, 2014

    Lovely.

  4. fursesofhegg
    November 28, 2014

    I love lavender. Well done Mandy, the smaller the crop the more precious I guess!

  5. Crooked Tracks
    December 1, 2014

    I like it very much, I would have skipped the lace too.

  6. mrsfoxfinery
    December 2, 2014

    I bet it smells wonderful. It would make a lovely gift. Well done x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2014 by in Projects and tagged , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

