mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Solids for Modern Patchwork

Buying solids for patchwork had not really been on my agenda until a few years ago. I always preferred to have slight movement in a self coloured print, a mottle, something to add texture. Modern patchwork repeatedly requires solids and the fabric companies are rising to the challenge and bringing out their own ranges of solid colours.

Kona Cottons by Robert Kaufman have been a reliable staple. Good quality and apparently now in 303 different hues.

GeometricRainbowNicoleDaksiewicz

(Geometric Rainbow quilt by Nicole Daksiewicz at QuiltCon 2015 showing all 303 Kona solids)

Also at QuiltCon, the Modern Quilt Guild event held in Texas last month, Denise Schmidt was showing her new selection of solids for Free Spirit. The apple green sample provided in the goodie bag feels good quality and weight, I love the colour and I’m excited to try it out.

FreeSpiritGreen

Michael Millers Cotton Couture is well established. The fabric has a soft drape ideal for clothes and we were all treated to a mini charm pack.

American Made Brand (AMB) is showing up increasingly in patchwork and quilting shops. It’s more affordable than some of the others out there and has a good range.

With neutrals being used in quantity as backgrounds, importantly providing the negative space in a lot of designs, I’m always looking for good whites and greys.

GreySolids

I’ve used Timeless Treasures Soho Solid “Steel” and “Smoke” grey many times, they are my go to’s. We tried AMB light grey #5 for our mqgcharity quilt and it handled very well too.

CharityQuiltMQG

(Group mqgcharity quilt, photo and amazing quilting by Rachael Dorr)

Whites have to be thick enough so the seams aren’t too visible. Kona do an “Ice” white, “Snow” which is a little warmer and “Bone” which is really a light cream, I’ve used them all.

AMBsolids

One of the great things about modern quilting is it’s creating a large market for modern solid colours. All of the companies are constantly updating their ranges. I recently used “Punch” and “Orchid” Soho Solids as accents in a quilt and delicious colours like mango, kiwi and pomegranate are popping up too.

QuiltNowMandyMunroecrop

(Monochromatic throw in Quilt Now Magazine using Soho Solids Punch, Orchid and Smoke)

I’m currently using some Textured Solids by Andover in a project, so I’ll let you know how that goes.

Happy (Modern) Quilting!

 

10 comments on “Solids for Modern Patchwork

  1. tialys
    March 22, 2015

    I’ve never used only solids in a quilt before but I have seen some lovely ones. Perhaps I’ll make that a project for the future.

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2015

      Sounds like you’ve just set yourself a challenge! I’ve just written a review of QuiltCon for Popular Patchwork magazine and included lots more images of solids in quilts if you need a few ideas šŸ™‚

  2. quiltingismyyoga
    March 22, 2015

    I enjoyed reading this blog, I too have used a few different brands in solids, and the color ranges are amazing! It’s hard to choose!

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2015

      Do you have a favourite brand? If there is such a thing as colour addiction I think we’ve both got it!

  3. mollieandclaire
    March 22, 2015

    Wow to that quilt with the 303 colours!

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2015

      I know – why choose, just use them all! This quilt was beautifully made, it was a joy to see it up close.

  4. Oh Sew Tempting
    March 23, 2015

    I love solids. They are my favourites by miles! Great post šŸ™‚

    • mandymunroe
      March 24, 2015

      Thanks Avis, I love your blue and white block, do you have a favourite brand?

      • Oh Sew Tempting
        March 25, 2015

        Yes, it’s Moda all the way for me šŸ™‚

  5. mandymunroe
    March 26, 2015

    I don’t think I’ve ever tried them, how did that happen!? I’ll watch out for them now, thanks!

Leave a Reply

Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

