mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Knitting finish, Crochet argh!

Finished: This cowl has used up some leftover Baby Cashmerino, I just kept knitting until the grey ran out. The pattern allows the yarn to run behind each colour change so it’s double thickness and will be nice and warm.

KnittedCowlmm

It felt beautiful to knit and the pattern was simple enough to pick up and put down, a small feel good project.

BabyCashCowlmm

This however, not so, yet!

I thought I’d use the little balls of cotton I just bought and make more of these flower blocks by Laura Leonard but I cant remember what size hook I used. I like the dense feel of the first one (top right) using the Lion Brand cotton which is a little thicker than the Katia Amigurumi.

P1040986

For the purple one I used a 3mm hook (also Lion Brand cotton), it’s too big with one round to go. The orange one (Katia) is bigger, still one round to go. So I’ll have to try going down another size or two, rip some, or use them separately and know one will know 🙂

8 comments on “Knitting finish, Crochet argh!

  1. mrsfoxfinery
    May 5, 2015

    Loving the flower blocks they are so perfect for summer. Can’t wait to see the end result x

    • mandymunroe
      May 5, 2015

      Thanks Mrs Fox, it’s such a pretty pattern I’m determined to work this out. I ripped the purple one back to the flower centre and redid it on a smaller hook. It finished another size so I’m thinking maybe strung as bunting.

      • mrsfoxfinery
        May 5, 2015

        I think bunting would work out really well. There is always room for bunting in your life! X

  2. The cowl looks really cozy. The squares look great but isn’t it just so incredibly annoying when you can’t remember which hook you used! I have a similar problem with my budgies, I must have changed tension between birds so I have three different sizes! I am considering trying to shrink the biggest one by washing it in hot water!! 🙂 Sharon x

    • mandymunroe
      May 5, 2015

      Oh no, I love your budgies. I knitted a tunic once that grew every time I wore it, so I decided to try the washing machine trick (a gentle 40 degrees)- don’t do it! I got a dolls size dress as solid as a carpet. Can you have some baby budgies and some grown up ones?

  3. mollieandclaire
    May 5, 2015

    Or you could add a row of single crochet around the smaller ones to see if they will be the right size. …

    • mandymunroe
      May 5, 2015

      oooh, now there’s an idea, such a simple solution thank you! I’ve been stabbing away with a 2.25 hook on the yellow and it’s too tight and no fun at all.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2015 by in Projects and tagged , , , , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

