mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

An evening playing

Last night I had a night in with the Great Pottery Throw down. GREAT programme! I was sat on the floor enjoying sorting through some fabric (whilst watching) and came across my efforts at thread sketching that I’d created in a workshop with Janet Clare (thanks for the place Tansy!)

JCworkshopmm

Now, they are not fabulous, I’d had a little trouble with the tension but it seems a waste for them to be in a bag.

FamilyJanetClareWorkshopmm

I’d added some bodies to my funny collection of family portraits, unpicked a disaster of a bicycle and was left with a penguin!?

JanetClareworkshopmm

Janet had been very generous with her fabric so I had some spare to add as backgrounds (thank goodness I’d kept everything together)!

HousesJanetClareworkshopmm

So now I have a motley collection of pieces I could make into a cushion, if only they would add up to a square.

Maybe I need to make more on MY sewing machine, the practice would be good…………………………..

mandymunroestitch

(you know this is going back in the bag don’t you). Back to my day job and some secret sewing now.

This was such an enjoyable workshop, I’d really recommend it – if you can get on one 🙂

10 comments on “An evening playing

  1. navybluethreads
    November 25, 2015

    Love these, would be such a shame just to put them back away…

    • mandymunroe
      November 30, 2015

      Thanks, I think I need a little more time with them 🙂

  2. tialys
    November 26, 2015

    I had a go at some of this a while back – it was nowhere near as accomplished as yours so definitely went back in the bag 😉 I love the effect though so I might make another effort one of these days.

    • mandymunroe
      November 30, 2015

      Janet made it look so easy, I will if you will!

  3. KerryCan
    November 26, 2015

    Don’t put these back in the bag! They’re so fun and quirky!

    • mandymunroe
      November 30, 2015

      Thanks Kerry, “quirky” haha, hubby looks like a pirate 🙂 I must persevere!

  4. Teresa Morgan
    November 26, 2015

    Love them !!!

    T x

  5. Mary Pat Smith
    November 28, 2015

    These are so cute! That last one of your “self-portrait” and signature would make great quilt labels!

  6. mandymunroe
    November 30, 2015

    Oooh, now there’s an idea 🙂 I’ll have to get much better at it first!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2015 by in Projects, Workshops and tagged , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

