mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

A year of Quilts 2015

Happy New Year!

2015 has seen 16,000 visits to this blog, from 82 countries. Thank you to all of you who have supported me and taken the time to comment, I appreciate each and every one of you šŸ™‚

Last year I posted a summary of the quilts I had made in the year. It proved a valuable recap for me and it seemed many of you enjoyed it too. So here is 2015 in quilts.

mandymunroeQAL

January was the start of the beginner friendly Quilt Along (QAL) I designed for Popular Patchwork magazine. It ran over four months to April and in the meantime my quilt group Jo Blox tested out the group version, swapping fabric and playing with different layouts. I know the PP forum and Pogles Wood quilters joined in the fun, so there must be a few of these quilts out there, in various stages of completion, I’d love to see some of them!

QALmandymunroe

A trip to Austin, Texas to visit QuiltCon was a bit of a highlight in February. I demonstrated EPP, attended a workshop by the Gees Bend collective and wrote a report on the whole event for PP magazine.

My Monochromatic throw featured in Quilt Now magazine issue 8. I used a restricted colour scheme of blender fabrics from Timeless Treasures for this and the result was bold and modern.

QuiltNowmandymunroe

A Moda jelly roll was the starting point for this 1930’s repro. print quilt, “More Jam“.

MoreJammandymunroe

In May I played with a petal template from EZ simplicity to make some cushions and a Long Hexie quilt followed on using some new fabrics from Gutermann. To my delight, this quilt was styled into an advertisement by Brother.

LongHexmandymunroe

Timeless Treasures asked me to write a few tutorials for them again this year. The Dolls Bed set was probably the most visited (I also made a Birdsong Pillow).

DollsSetTTmandymunroe

The Blend Bar quilt was inspired by a print by Ana Davis and made the cover of Popular Patchwork magazine in August.

AugustCoverPP2015

Quilt Now magazine commissioned a bright quilt for their fourteenth issue so I came up with “Unplugged“.

UnpluggedQuiltNow

Modern Patchwork accepted “Stack” for their summer issue in the US and I showed “Latch” at Festival of Quilts at the NEC. Both were were long arm quilted by the incredible Rachael Dorr. “More Jam” was issued as a free pattern at Festival and I taught a few workshops there too.

ModernStackQuiltmandymunroewp

Quilters Take Manhattan was another fun event I got to report on and I taught a few workshops at City Quilter NYC.

This little hanging finished up the year for me in November Popular Patchwork magazine.

NordicPPOct2015mm

It’s been another whirlwind of a year, traveling backwards and forwards across the Atlantic, trying to meet deadlines and plan workshops. So much fun, coming up with new designs and meeting many new quilters.

I wish you all a fabulous 2016, and if you decide to take up a new hobby, maybe quilting would be a good challenge!

x Mandy

14 comments on “A year of Quilts 2015

  1. Vikky Furse
    January 3, 2016

    Well done Mandy, all that hard work well worth while. You are a star and true inspirer.

  2. Vikky Furse
    January 3, 2016

    Lovely quilts to!!

  3. Debbierose
    January 4, 2016

    Mandy, truely beautiful and inspiring quilts. Well done

    • mandymunroe
      January 5, 2016

      Thanks Debbie, glad to spread some quilty love!

  4. tialys
    January 4, 2016

    All gorgeous! That ‘More Jam’ quilt inspired me to buy a Moda retro print jelly roll. I haven’t used it yet but I will.

    • mandymunroe
      January 5, 2016

      Such pretty fabric. It’s easy to make up just a few blocks at a time with this pattern so you can dabble when you have the odd moment šŸ™‚

  5. claire93
    January 4, 2016

    a very productive year

    • mandymunroe
      January 5, 2016

      Can’t decide if it was busier than last. More projects I think, maybe less quilts. Thanks for your support and comments this year!

  6. KerryCan
    January 4, 2016

    What a year! How are you going to top that in 2016?? šŸ˜‰

    • mandymunroe
      January 5, 2016

      I shall be glad if I can keep up the pace Kerry! Lots on the go already, it’s all fun stuff and I’m working with some wonderful fabrics šŸ™‚

  7. zippyquilts
    January 7, 2016

    The red, black, and gray is my fav!

  8. rosemaylily2014
    January 9, 2016

    Such beautiful quilts! šŸ™‚

  9. Mary Pat Smith
    January 12, 2016

    As always an incredibly busy and beautiful year for you. Can’t wait to see the results of 2016.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2016 by in Magazines, Quilt Shops, Quilts, Workshops.
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

