mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Hexie Day Prep

This week we are having a few alterations done on the house. The banisters have come down, the ceiling has gone up and now everything is getting a fresh coat of paint. This is all long overdue and we’re very pleased with the improved space but I haven’t been able to get to my sewing machine. All of the other rooms in the house are full of the displaced furniture, my fabric and threads are in different rooms, (they don’t need a whole room each :)) and I’m feeling a little discombobulated.

Workspacemm

The sewing I can get to, binding and sewing in ends, is keeping me sane (and on schedule for deadlines) and I managed to find some fabric I had put by for a demonstration day at Godinton House. This is coming up soon, well, March 30th, so it’s great to play a little and call it prep!

HexieDaymm

The day will be aimed at families having a go and trying something new, so I thought it would be fun for even the youngest to glue a hexie, older ones can stay and stitch. Come and join in if you’re in the area, it would be lovely to meet you! The gardens are worth a visit and there are lovely little walks too.

Once the decorating is done, I’ll be having to reorder my workroom, no mean feat, I think it will be a while before I can find things easily again. This need to sew is surprisingly overwhelming and I’ll be very pleased to get to my sewing machine again soon. In the meantime I’m happy playing with a few hexies and these lovely woodland themed fabrics 🙂

 

Hexie Day at Godinton House and Gardens March 30th  1pm – 4pm

Godinton House

Other patchwork days planned at Godinton 2016:

Friday 1st July – Applique Bunting

Friday  8th July – Patchwork Play Day (including Tippler Blocks)

Tipplercushionmmwp

7 comments on “Hexie Day Prep

  1. tialys
    February 24, 2016

    How frustrating for you not being able to get to your machine but those fussy cut hexies are delightful.
    I love the cushion. Is that one of your patterns?

    • mandymunroe
      February 24, 2016

      Thank you, I’m sure you know that feeling very well! Yes, the cushion is a small version of my Tippler Quilt based on a floor tile pattern I saw in NYC 🙂
      http://wp.me/p2tTFZ-i7
      Thank goodness for hand sewing!

  2. pomegranateandchintz
    February 24, 2016

    Hope the reno’s are finished satisfactorily soon! Love the fox fabric. Enjoy the hexie day – sounds like fun.

  3. made by ChrissieD
    February 25, 2016

    Loving the fussy cutting ❤ Looking forward to seeing you again soon – Chris 😀

  4. Mary Pat Smith
    February 25, 2016

    So excited for you, I know it’s been a long time in the planning! The new space will be well worth the “discombobulation”! The hexies are adorable.

  5. Emily Klainberg
    February 25, 2016

    You will enjoy the new look. It. But frustrating getting there. Love those hexies. Miss you😊

  6. Debbierose
    February 28, 2016

    Love fussy cutting. But I sometimes feel it wasteful. Yours are so cute

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2016 by in Events, Projects, Workshops.
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

