mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Step into Improv.

I’ve been teaching patchwork for about 20 years now (gasp!) and playing with fabric a lot longer. When I was taught traditional piecing techniques by the fabulous Mary D’Amelio in New Jersey, I always hung onto all of the scraps. I pieced them, no matter how small, when I had the urge to create, with no plan for the outcome. It’s very liberating!

Improvisational piecing is now a recognised technique and I’m very excited to be teaching it at Festival of Quilts in August, with a bit of a twist. We’re having a patchwork party! So if you fancy having some stitchy fun and throwing some fabric around, you can book a space here on the Festival of Quilts website.

PastelImprovmmwp

(an example of improvisational piecing made for me by the NYC Lucky Bee)

Improv. Patchwork Party (Academy Workshop 9.30-12.30)

Sunday 14th August

A step into modern improvisational piecing with party style challenges! A fun way to kick start your patchwork mojo and get you patchworking out of your comfort zone. Ideal for intermediates and improvers breaking out of the traditional. Spontaneous piecing encouraged!

6 comments on “Step into Improv.

  1. tialys
    June 2, 2016

    Sounds like fun. I’ve made a few improv blocks recently as part of a block swap where one of the participants is a big fan of the style. Trouble is I always feel I have to apologise for the result looking ‘wonky’, even though I know it’s supposed to. I agree though, it is very liberating especially compared to something like foundation paper piecing which I’m ‘in to’ at the moment and is probably at the other extreme.

    • mandymunroe
      June 3, 2016

      Maybe you just need to know where things are going? Do you think your garment sewing has got you into a habit of keeping everything straight? Enjoy your foundation piecing, I look forward to seeing the results!

  2. claire93
    June 2, 2016

    you must have taught thousands of patchworkers in 20 years!

    • mandymunroe
      June 3, 2016

      I met a lady at the Oast Quilters Showcase today, who came over to say she is still quilting after all these years. I’m so pleased to be able to share the love (addiction), it is such good fun! (I keep checking the maths, yes it is 20…… but I’m only just a grown up)!

  3. ukcitycrafter
    June 5, 2016

    This looks like fun Mandy, there are a few quilts showcasing improv doing the rounds at the shows this year and it’s very inspiring. I’m away while FOQ is on this year otherwise I’d be sorely tempted.

    • mandymunroe
      June 22, 2016

      Maybe our paths will cross someday soon Chris 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2016 by in Events, Workshops and tagged , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

