mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

If the sun shines I’ll show you my garden

The weather is pants here in the Uk at the moment. It’s overcast, then it rains heavily, the sun may come out for a while, just long enough to remind you it is summer, then it’s gone again. The plants don’t really know what to do, I’m just staying inside quilting. I haven’t even tried to hang the washing outside for a week now.
We are promised some sun tomorrow so I shall take my camera out and take some snaps, or not……………………..

Well it did stop raining for about 10 mins……………

Hydrangea2016

I’m thinking of cutting some of these Hydrangeas and bringing them inside so we can enjoy them.

Lupin2016

I got this Lupin from the scout summer fayre (in between heavy showers) and shoved it in a pot. It was just a small bud, wasn’t expecting it to be purple 🙂

FavBlkHllyhck2016

My fav black Hollyhock has just peeped out 🙂

Corgetts2016

We have Courgettes!!!! I’ve not grown these before, apparently one plant will be enough.

Beans2016

We also have some very small beans. With all this rain they should be huge but they do need some sun sometimes.

It’s very exciting to be back in the UK and be able to enjoy my garden again. Growing vegetables hasn’t really been an option for a few years.

Rhubarb2016

And here’s the gratuitous Rhubarb shot – as you know, I’m very proud of this even though it just comes up by itself without any help from me!

 

 

8 comments on “If the sun shines I’ll show you my garden

  1. tialys
    July 14, 2016

    It’s pants here too and to think we moved here partly for the climate 😦 Mind you, it was up in the low 30s on Saturday and we all moaned because it was too hot. There’s no pleasing some people.
    Lovely garden shots – at least the rain makes the plants look fresh – and, yes, from personal experience, one courgette plant will be enough unless you want to be eating courgette soup, courgette fritters and courgette cake every night for the foreseeable future.

    • mandymunroe
      July 16, 2016

      Ha, so that was good advice then, thanks! – just seen the forecast for next week. Looks like we’ll be getting some of your sunshine 🙂

  2. colorpencil2014
    July 14, 2016

    Your garden is beautiful!!! I am happy you have all these flowers to enjoy in such a rainy summer! Xo Johanna

  3. salpal1
    July 14, 2016

    it seems the plants DO know what to do – bloom and pose when they see the camera. 🙂 They all look great, in spite of the bad weather. I hope it clears soon, you need SOME nice summery weather to remain sane. Quilting can’t do it all for you.

    • mandymunroe
      July 16, 2016

      You’re right, they just get on with it but they have been battered by the rain. I took my knitting out and sat in my shed out of the wind, sanity restored. Thanks for your lovely comments 🙂

  4. I MISS MY GARDEN!!! Thank you for sharing yours, lucky girl to be back home. Of course, we have endless sunshine here but it’s crazy hot, the humidity’s a killer and there’s storm after storm. Something between the two weather types would be ideal wouldn’t it?! 😀

    • mandymunroe
      July 16, 2016

      Oh poor you, I’ll keep sharing mine with you. Summer in NY is a complete contrast, can’t say I envy you right now X

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2016 by in Garden and tagged , , , .
Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

