mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

A Year of Quilts 2016

Well another year is almost over and it’s time to review my year through the quilts I’ve designed and quilting events that have taken place. This will be the third year I’ll have “gathered up” my projects into a blog post and it’s always a bit of a revelation to me. It’s useful to take stock and see what I’ve been inspired to make and do.

January got off to a good start, “Interstella” made the cover of Popular Patchwork magazine. This was such fun to make from a bundle of Intermix blenders by Dear Stella.

CoverJanPPInterstellamandymunroe

“Silver Lining” was in the February issue, named after the collection designed by Hoodie Cresent for Stof.

SilverLining1mm

After a visit to Cloud9 in New Jersey I designed this Blanket Stitch quilt from some of their Cirrus Solids.

MarchPPcover

Jo Blox had our AQR (Annual Quilting Retreat) in Broadstairs, with a field trip to Oast Quilters in Canterbury to see Stuart Hillard.

Susie Husons birdhouse print inspired this bird (log) cabin quilt in April, made from Fairtrade fabrics. Do have a look at their website, unfortunately they are having to close down 😦

FairtradeBirdCabin mandymunroe

Quilt Now magazine commissioned my Garden Party Quilt which was made from jellyrolls from Lecien. The editor also accepted my Liquorice Allsorts Table Runner design, both went into issue 22 AND she put both on the cover (that’s a first for me)!

QuiltNowCover22

Monaluna prints including some lovely little owls, worked into HUGE flowers for this quilt on the cover of May issue of Popular Patchwork.

Screen Shot 2016CoverMonaluna

Timeless Treasures invited me to write a tutorial using their Dash prints and I used all of the colours available in this Hugs all Around, “Quilts for Kids” comforter.

HugsQuilt-web

I hit my stash again for a little hand sewing project for June issue. Since then I’ve been addicted to stitching hexie wreaths from scraps, whenever I travel. There’s quite a stack of them accumulating…….. almost ready for another quilt?  🙂

JuneHexieQuiltmm

I also took part in South East Open Studios for the first time in 5 years. Another benefit of being back in the UK, although I do miss the Mod meetings in NYC.

Fat quarters of Alice Kennedy’s summery prints whipped up into this quick quilt in July.

summertimethrowjuly

The August issue coincided with the Olympics, so I designed the “Colours of the World” cityscape quilt from colours of flags of the world.

coloursoftheworld

My text print table mats were in the September issue that was on sale at Festival of Quilts at the NEC Birmingham. I taught Improv. Academy workshops there and met lots of lovely quilters. I demonstrated on the Popular Patchwork stand and also played with some of my favourite blue/mint stash fabrics for their Sketchbook competition launch – WOW – they had some great entries from readers!

Pluckley Quilt Show showcased 14 of my “Quilts from Magazines” in Kent, also in September.

I’d been wanting to work with some Tilda prints for a while and got the opportunity to make this Candy Square quilt based on the crochet Granny Squares design. That was for October issue.

tildagrannysqmandymunroel

Detling Quilt Show, held at Kent Showground, provided a jolly jaunt for a few of us Jo Blox members.

In November I was honoured to work with Oakshott fabrics and was blown away by the beautiful range of colours. Using some of my favourites, this “Happy Squares” quilt made the cover of Popular Patchwork magazine (yes, cover number 5 – I was absolutely thrilled!)

novcoverpphappysquares

They also commissioned me to design “Lock and Latch” and produced it as a kit.

oakshottkitimage

My final quilt for the year was this “Icicles” quilt for Popular Patchwork December issue.

iciclequiltpp

Another crazy year patchworking and lots of teaching. I also wrote a few articles and got to interview Ricky Timms!

Thank you all for supporting me by visiting this blog and leaving your comments, they are truly appreciated. Hopefully I’ll meet some more of you next year 🙂

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year, make sure you free up some sewing time!

x Mandy

6 comments on “A Year of Quilts 2016

  1. pomegranateandchintz
    December 8, 2016

    Wow! What a fabulous year, Mandy! Such great quilts and lots of fun for you.

  2. TextileRanger
    December 9, 2016

    That is a huge number of quilts! I love your pared-down and colorful style.

  3. tialys
    December 9, 2016

    What a lovely array of completed quilts. I’m happy if I can get one or two done in a year, let alone one a month.

  4. Mary Pat Smith
    December 9, 2016

    I’ve told you over and over – you are AMAZING! What a great year you’ve had and what a role model you are for all quilters and small business women – with a little “pluck” we can accomplish anything. The quilts are beautiful and showcase the fabrics and themes so well. Congratulations and best wishes for another fabulous year in 2017!

  5. You’ve had a great year and well deserved, we miss you at our meetings 😀

  6. mandymunroe
    December 12, 2016

    Thank you all for your lovely comments. It has been a busy year but such fun, doing what I love X

Leave a Reply

Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

