mandy munroe

stitching, quilting, fabric, projects

Village Playmat

When my children were small I painted a basic road layout on a piece of MDF for them. On the other side I painted a pond and some fields for their farm animals. Obviously only one side could be used at a time but it was small and relatively portable.

This wonderful village print fabric “Dominicana” was designed by Vanessa Vargas Wilson (aka crafygemini) for Timeless Treasures.

dominicanasmall

It reminded me of the fun the kids used to have playing together with their cars and animals and inspired me to make a playmat with lakes and fields, with the houses and shops as destinations – I’m a quilter now!

playmatdominicanappfeb

Surely a mat that doubles as a snuggly childs quilt is twice as good!

The instructions and block designs, including bridges and parking spaces, are printed in Popular Patchwork magazine, February 2017 issue which is in the shops this weekend. They can be mixed and matched and there is a paper foundation for some additional trees.

I also got to interview Victoria Findlay Wolfe for this issue and of course there are some giveaways too!

7 comments on “Village Playmat

  1. onecreativefamily
    January 12, 2017

    This looks like fun

  2. tialys
    January 13, 2017

    Wonderful idea – this almost makes me wish I had small children again. Almost! 😉

    • mandymunroe
      January 13, 2017

      Haha, I think I’ll squirrel this away for grand children…… (hope my kids don’t read this, they will be totally freaked out)!

  3. The Mulberry Mouse
    January 13, 2017

    Lovely idea, I remember mine loving their play mats when they were little too.

  4. mandymunroe
    January 13, 2017

    Special times 🙂 This print is so perfect for imaginative play, I would love to hear their stories and adventures. I’ve added thin strips that could be verges, flower borders, hedges or streams…………

Leave a Reply

Made in Ashford

Creative & Handmade Small Business Shop Share in the Heart of Ashford

The Mulberry Mouse

Getting crafty

The Slow Stitching Movement

Creating, Promoting, and Sustaining a New Vision in Stitching and Needlecraft

Mollie & Claire

A blog about knitting, making things & life with a black Labrador called Mollie

Cocojude

Crafty musings

Boomdeeadda

Life, Art and Other Bits

Aye Aye

Mover, shaker. Designer, maker. Clothing business shaper.

Row's Pottery Shed

pottery & stuff

